We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beer Tree - CLOSED

The Beer Tree
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My favourite restaurant by far! I love the way the exotic steaks are served to your table on the black roll grills and the choice of drinks is amazing. Would definitely recommend and have visited multiple times.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandomButtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Called in for a quick drink and snacks, staff very friendly and prices very resonable, got two drinks and a packet of crisps for £5.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good choice of beers .... not”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We called in on an early Tuesday evening (12 March 2013) impressed by the claim on the outside wall (and a previous write up) which suggested a good choice of ales. We were the only customers.
I asked the barman for a pint of whatever it was on the tap. I was informed that they only sold bottles at the start of the week because the "beer goes off otherwise". Crestfallen I had a pint of lager instead and sat down.
Then another customer came in and also tried in vain to get a 'pint'.
I wonder how many customers were told that night that "there's no call for draught beer at the start of the week?
FAIL

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice litte pub”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Called in for an evening meal - staff where friendly and attentive. Food was lovely - good big protions and average prices. Nice little place

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khadija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality beer (and food) comes to Banbury”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Fantastic selection of beers from Belgium and Germany. Not cheap at around £5 per bottle, so don't come here to get hammered; come here to enjoy the variety and amazing tastes.

The food is also excellent, with a huge selection of sausages of every meat and flavor you can imagine. And the pub itself has been nicely refitted with lots of dark wood and comfortable seats.

At last a nice beer-drinkers pub in Banbury!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleTripper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beer Tree also viewed

Middleton Cheney, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing