We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Inn with great owners and staff”
Review of Horse and Groom

Horse and Groom
Ranked #65 of 192 Restaurants in Banbury
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect Inn with great owners and staff”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This Inn is listed twice as The Horse and Groom "Inn" so check other reviews. My review is: "We needed somewhere to stay after attending a wedding nearby. Fortunately for us we found this little gem. With only 4 guest rooms it has an intimate atmosphere with a full restaurant to the rear of the front bar. We were welcomed by Jim and his wife in a personal and helpful manner more associated with being their fiends. The room was basic but clean and a comfortable bed made for a great night sleep, with large ensuite bathroom with big fresh towels. We had a quick meal in the front bar and chose the sirloin steak. If you like your steaks, you should try this. Superb local meat and cooked to perfection. Although off the beaten track, this lovely Inn is well worth a small detour to find"

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place has really improved since the last owners. I had sirloin steak and chips and the red onion marmalade that comes with it, is really nice. For pud, I had sticky toffee pudding which was devine. The food that my Husband and Dad ate looked really nice and next time I go, I will have what they had! Lovely outdoor seating area too and the staff are really friendly! Will definitely return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkeyeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere - Good Food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Better than pub grub, interesting menu, lovely seating area outside. Certainly worth a visit, few nice beers on too! Nice smoking area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piscatorialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Have now been a few times in recent months, food and service have been excellent - highly recomended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmu_ssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have eaten at Horse and Groom several times with every visit being equally as good. Menu changes often always giving you chance to try different foods

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Groom also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing