We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a lovely quiet hotel even though its next to the M40
The food is well above average the Steak was to died for my husband had 16oz Gammon best he as ever had
Nice and clean room abit basic but the beds were good and it was clean so thats the main thing

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbarnes0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
13
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Although it is slightly difficult to find ( would recommend using Google maps instead of sat nav). This place is a little gem especially from a contractors point of view. The food was excellent the rooms were nice and clean with all the usual trimmings. They have a nice little bar with a small selection of beers and also have a large chiller unit where you can buy local cheeses and meats. The lady that booked us in seemed very nice and helpful. A nice menu with mostly pub food. I had the piri piri pork rump steak which was delicious and my mate had the mixed grill which was huge. So although this place is nothing fancy I would certainly recommend and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailboxmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a pleasant pub, tucked away from the man town. Used it for a visit to the Fairport Cropredy Festival.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and roomy - no shortage of space for your stuff. The full english breakfast ( included in the Tariff) was good and the orange juice is really fresh and the coffee is very good.

When you arrive the noise from the adjacent M40 traffic makes you think that you won't sleep a wink, yet very efficient double glazing makes for an undisturbed night. The rooms have all you would wish: tea and coffee making facilities, sky tv, hair dryer and etc. The beds are comfortable and you get two pillows as standard.

We didn't have an evening meal here but from the breakfast provided you will get good well cooked food.

The not so good: Not much really apart form signage - it isn't visible from the road and there are no signs on the road to guide you in.

In summary: a good well kept pub and the pricing is on the same level as a Holiday Inn, but I would rather pay for this kind of hostelry than a characterless plastic hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Have just had another evening meal at the Bowling Green and once again not disappointed.
Very friendly service and excellent food. Once again the Owners made us welcome and we will be returning again with our family and friends.

Best Chips ever, keep peeling and chopping.

Thanks again
Brian & Debbie Jones

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Looking for an overnight stay near my final destination, came across this place on accomodation website. Althought I arrived late in the evening, I was offered the option of a freshly cooked evening meal which was excellent.
The bedroom was nice and comfortable, but the best part was the breakfast. I can honestly say I have not tasted a nicer breakfast in several years, and was by far better than the one in the 5 star establishment I was in the following night.
My only surprise was how quiet the whole place was, but perhaps due to being a midweek visit.
Overall though, a highly reccommended place to stay, a short travel from centre of Banbury

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I've stayed here a number of times when in Banbury and always enjoyed it. Tucked away behind the M40 and not the easiest to find without your sat nav! All rooms en-suite, basic but very clean with everything you need available. Outside area with tables under cover overlooking the "rabbit field" Food is just as the owners describe it "good food , simply done" - exactly what it is! Can be busy in the restaurant at times so this is a place that clearly suits a lot of people.... Wi Fi may be a bit erratic at times but it is totally free!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REKAB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

great find, excellent home made food not just home cooked. proper pub& restaurant, very good service and very welcoming. will visit again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonhollinshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel

Property: The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
Address: Overthorpe Road, Banbury OX17 2XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run country steakhouse with 6 en-suite bedrooms. pets not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing