We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely sunday afternoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Arrived at the bowling green steak house hotel looking forward to a tradtional sunday roast !!!! the restaurant was busy with a lovely atmosphere , the meal arrived , it was just what we want a lovely sunday roast with good service . thank you bowling green a enjoyable afternoon will return .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have just come back from a lovely weekend in Banbury. The Bowling Green is a lovely , family run small hotel. The food on the Saturday night was excellent as was the breakfast and Sunday lunch.
The hotel is quiet, clean and extremely well run. Nothing was too much trouble.
We will definitely be staying again.
Thank you Karen and Phil for a great time.
Barbara and Sam and family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well had to dig out for a room near to Banbury and as I only needed an overnight stay I wasn't too concerned about what I booked,,,im usually a slave to best western points. The Bowling Gereen was clean compact warm,,,even had sky sports in the room. Good value and food very good indeed. Breakfast was spot on just enough but really good quality items. I would recommend it if you need a stay in Banbury. Funny as I write this review the ones at the side of mine bear out what im saying,,,lol

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Greeting was welcoming, clean and tidy accommodation. Clean and basic rooms, had free WiFi and Sky TV. No double rooms available so had to settle with single beds, not the most comfortable of nights sleep. Breakfast consisted of full English breakfast, not the best I have tasted, lacked quantity, 2 eggs, 2 overdone bacon, 2 mushrooms cut in half, tomato and 1 small sausage. Other available breakfast items, cereal, orange juice, yogurt. For the price I would have settled for an alternate hotel had there been one available at short notice.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ade_bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A bit tricky to find without satnav (come on Banbury council, let them put a sign up on the main road!) Lovely food, very clean. Best bacon and eggs I have had for years with eggs from their own chickens. Be aware you can't check in until 6pm.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the fire doors as they are quite noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perception999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Rooms very clean and bright with every thing I needed plus sky tv sports channels restaurant provided a warm atmosphere great menu if you like steaks the t bone steak I had was without question the best I have had the owners are very friendly and the service was good its a shame I don't get to Banbury more often because this place is spot on

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Booked a table for 18 people for a night out and it was first class not one complaint which must say something. The owners were very friendly and the service and quaility of the food was first class. I'm sure we will all be back sometime. It was a pleasure to eat in the restaurant and thank you all for making our evening with you a big success.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheneyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
439 reviews
1.5 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel

Address: Overthorpe Road, Banbury OX17 2XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £78 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run country steakhouse with 6 en-suite bedrooms. pets not allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowling Green Steakhouse Hotel Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing