We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanwell House---at last, a real 'Home-from-Home!'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanwell House
Ranked #1 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hanwell House---at last, a real 'Home-from-Home!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I never thought I'd find overnight accommodation that could match the price of the usual budget-stay hotels without having to accept 'the bare minimum'...however, Hanwell House proved to me that you CAN provide a really welcoming, comfortable, 'Home-from-Home' B&B run by people who are actually interested in you as a guest AND with all the benefits and features of a decent hotel. Lovely room (Edge Hill) clean, tidy, quiet, with an en-suite shower and toilet and a REALLY comfortable bed. And when I asked for porridge for breakfast (which wasn't on the menu) I got the real thing--not the packet variety either. I'll be back!"

Room Tip: Speak to Jan---but 'Edge Hill' was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshfordTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
187
41
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Jan and family provided a perfect setting for a trip to see Banbury and visit friends in the local area. The welcome is incredibly friendly and the owners provide a fountain of local knowledge for anyone visiting the local area.

The B and B is located just outside Banbury and offers a high standard of ensuite rooms for visitors. Also make room for the breakfast which is a great thing to wake up to before starting your day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheezy_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Warmly welcomed and good advice about restaurants and travel for our onward journey. The room was comfortable, as was the bed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

Comfortable stay, friendly welcome from Jan.
Highly reccomend, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stay in hotels about 120 nights a year in the UK and abroad, this is the first time I have stayed in a B & B. I can honestly say that like everyone else, that I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. From the quality and cleanliness of the room, free internet, Freeview TV, to the warmth and friendliness of Jan and her welcome.
I will be staying there again when I return on business and would have no hesitation in recommending Hanwell House to anyone looking for a place to stay in Banbury!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leec58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Jan was extremely welcoming from the beginning, especially providing us with directions to the car park when we was a little lost, if you had never been to Banbury or the surrounding area you need not to worry as Jan is a fountain of knowledge as to what is on offer and where to go for dinner. The room was very cosy and comfortable and had more than enough room for a 2 night stay, the washing facilities where very clean and effective. Jan provides you with a breakfast card each night to fill in, which has what is on the menu and you select what you would what, which has more than enough on offer to leave you feeling full. Location wise, if like us you wanted to visit Bicester village outlet it was only a half hour drive. With regards to the two cats they are adorable and very friendly especially around breakfast time.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parks_glory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The welcome from Jan was extremely friendly. We did get slightly lost but after a quick phone call to Jan we were there. The room we stayed in (Cropredy) was excellent and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. It was nice to see fried bread on the menu - something which we haven't had for a long time!! Jan and Nigel were very kind and even printed off walks of Banbury and surrounds for us to enjoy. We will definitely stay again. Banbury is a lovely place to look around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
6.9 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanwell House

Property: Hanwell House
Address: 2 Lapsley Drive, Banbury OX16 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanwell House is a modern three-story bed and breakfast boasting character and charm, quietly situated to the north of Banbury, yet only minutes from the M40 (Jct 11). Jan and Nigel offer three attractive first floor rooms with private facilities, central heating, colour television, radio/alarm, hospitality tray and hairdryer. A varied breakfast menu is available from traditional full English to a light continental breakfast. Off-road parking is provided. Sorry, no pets or children under 11. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hanwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanwell House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing