We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
Review of Hanwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanwell House
Ranked #1 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Luxurious, peaceful, warm and friendly atmosphere with lots of homemade yummies. Lots of choice for breakfast and extremely clean. Would definitely recommend and stay again. It was very convenient for anyone doing a course at the Mill Arts Centre

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
191
45
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Restful overnight stay. Loved the little touches like homemade biscuits with bottle water and juice concentrates instead of just tea or coffee in the rooms. Locally sourced produce for breakfast (low carbon footprint) large choice of breakfast options made as you wish. Big tub in the private bathroom great for a long relaxing soak. Area is a quiet residential area, good for getting a good nights sleep but a short walk to local pub and on a bus route for easy access to transport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittyspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had an enjoyable overnight stay. Greeted warmly by Jan on arrival
and instantly felt at home. Very comfortable accommodation followed by
an excellent breakfast. We couldn't fault anything and greatly appreciated
all the attention to detail. Sorry we didn't meet Nigel - hopefully next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here just the one night, which was a shame as I would have liked to have stayed longer. When we arrived we were greeted by Jan & Nigel and made to feel at home straight away.
Our room was clean and well equipped complete with home made cookies! For breakfast I had scrambled eggs with salmon which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0Spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wonderful!
A warm welcome awaits you at Hanwell House as well as excellent, comfortable accommodation & delicious food.
Excellent communication prior to my visit, which was very thoughtful & much appreciated.
Room overlooked countryside - lovely & quiet with everything you need, including home-made cookies. Jan & Nigel had thought of everything.
Breakfast was superb, the choice limitless with local produce/home made jams etc.

Hanwell House is a first class establishment. Jan & Nigel are excellent hosts & ensure your stay is enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

I will definitely stay at Hanwell House again.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had 2 nights at Hanwell House and found it charming. Jan and Nigel gave us a very warm welcome and lots of tips on sightseeing and where to eat. The room was lovely and well equipped including tea making facilities to enjoy with Jan's homemade biscuits. Breakfast was very good and again enjoyed Jan's homemade jams. There is parking at the rear of the house. We did Nigel's historical walk around Banbury and found it really interesting. We had a couple of lovely meals at the Hanwell Arms pub a 5 minute walk if that and the prices were very good. Hanwell House is in a lovely area and there is a lovely park across the road, and it was interesting for us as overseas tourists to experience life in an environment so different to our own, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for one night and can thoroughly recommend Hanwell House. Prior to arriving, we had to change our booking at short notice, but Jan was very accommodating in fitting us in. Jan and Nigel are great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Our room was lovely and well equipped. Particularly nice were the cafetiere coffee and the homemade cookies! Breakfast was excellent. We walked it off doing Nigel's walk round Banbury. Very interesting! We would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDXX157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanwell House

Property: Hanwell House
Address: 2 Lapsley Drive, Banbury OX16 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanwell House is a modern three-story bed and breakfast boasting character and charm, quietly situated to the north of Banbury, yet only minutes from the M40 (Jct 11). Jan and Nigel offer three attractive first floor rooms with private facilities, central heating, colour television, radio/alarm, hospitality tray and hairdryer. A varied breakfast menu is available from traditional full English to a light continental breakfast. Off-road parking is provided. Sorry, no pets or children under 11. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hanwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanwell House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing