We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay when exploring the Cotswolds”
Review of Hanwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanwell House
Ranked #1 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We enjoyed staying here very much. We felt very welcome. The room and bathroom were very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The surroundings of the house are good, it is a quiet road. Nearby are a pub and an excellent Indian restaurant! An overall excellent place to stay and absolutely good value for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorter1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Jan is genuinely friendly and made us feel totally at home over our 5 night stay. Jan is very perceptive as to her guests needs and was ever helpful. Her suggestions for dining and for places to see we're tailored precisely to our needs. The room was neat and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts superb. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Hanwell House to anyone wanting a friendly, clean and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just home from another three nights stay in Banbury and, as always, Hanwell House was our first choice accommodation. Keenly priced, welcoming, scrupulously clean, and excellent breakfasts. What more could you ask for??

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife stayed here for one night recently - this is her review.

Recently stayed one night on business trip. Lovely welcome by Jan. room very comfortable, clean and bright. Great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The four of us (two older couples) had a very comfortable stay at Hanwell House for three nights. Jan and Nigel could not have been more welcoming or informative hosts, and the breakfasts they served were just superb. The location is quiet (on a medium-busy road, but residential area so quieter in the evening), parking is private and near the house, and from that spot you can easily get north and west to the many wonderful attractions in the area. Our rooms were clean and very comfortable, but small, and our twin room had a bath across the hall - very modern with a big tub and a preformed shower (great water pressure), reserved for our use but with access near the doors to two other guestrooms. The only thing less than ideal was the lack of a good place to sit and read in the evenings (we are not the stay-at-the-pub types). There is space in the garden that guests are allowed to use, but no sitting room in the house. (This is not uncommon in B&B's these days.)

Room Tip: There is one guest room we did not see, and that seems to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

From previous reviews we expected a great B&B and although our stay was very brief our stop-over exceeded expectation. We were encouraged to take our glasses of wine into the garden and we 'chilled' as the shadows lengthened. Inside all the boxes were ticked; large soft towels, very comfortable bed, lovely furnishings and the home cooked food top rate. Make sure that you try the delicious lemon curd and Oxford marmalade. A pity that we had not planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RODERICK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On arrival Jan was extremely welcoming... This is a lovely fresh,modern, and comfortable Bed &Breakfast.
This would be my only choice from now on when staying in Banbury. Breakfast is amazing too....
It is located perfectly and is very convenient for motorway access.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieCanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
6.9 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
544 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanwell House

Address: 2 Lapsley Drive, Banbury OX16 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range: £83 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanwell House is a modern three-story bed and breakfast boasting character and charm, quietly situated to the north of Banbury, yet only minutes from the M40 (Jct 11). Jan and Nigel offer three attractive first floor rooms with private facilities, central heating, colour television, radio/alarm, hospitality tray and hairdryer. A varied breakfast menu is available from traditional full English to a light continental breakfast. Off-road parking is provided. Sorry, no pets or children under 11. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hanwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanwell House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing