We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I'm sat here at 1:30a.m. Unable to sleep due to the building work being carried out below my room.
Four workmen knocking down walls and drilling / sawing all bloody night. This is akin to a carry on films.
To say I'm disgusted that the hotel sold this room to me knowing that this work was scheduled is an understatement.
This hotel CERTAINLY do not care for their guests, I will be seeking a full refund and compensation in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettybloodyangry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are unreservedly sorry for the events that transpired during your visit, the inconvenience and the emotional distress that this caused you at the time. They were essential repairs that caused much more disruption than first anticipated. We accept full responsibility for what happened and, as agreed, there was to be absolutely no charge for any of your experience with us. We do hope that Customer Services could help to resolve the matter for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    172
    101
    62
    39
See reviews for
82
250
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wordsley,stourbridge.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Cromwell on Thursday 27th of Feb. Although the room they gave us was fabulous we found as pensioners the stairs were to the top floor were a bit to much. We asked for a lower room and thanks to the manager we were moved and it was very much appreciated. It was no problem to park the car at the rear of the Hotel. (free of charge)
As regards the room there were no complaints, comfortable beds tea and coffee with biscuits, we could not fault it. The Hotel is just across the road from Banbury shopping centre. The evening meals are evenly priced as well as the wine list. Breakfast was quite filling with a good choice.
All in a very pleasant stay and many thanks for their friendliness towards the older generation.

Room Tip: If you are not to happy with your room try and change it but we did not hear any complaints while we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments. We endeavour to always try our best to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout their stay wherever possible, and we very much look forward to welcoming you at the Cromwell again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked Cromwell Lodge as needed a base near Hook Norton ( for brewery tour) and Stratford upon Avon for theatre visit. Easy for both and staff very accommodating and friendly, nothing seemed too much even though they were very busy with a function.

Room Tip: We had room 3 superior double. Great size with sofa, back of hotel and even with a function in the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are glad that we could provide you with a convenient location base your visits from. Thank you for sharing your experience, and for your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Cromwell Lodge for 1 night with my Husband and 2 children (aged 2 & 3). Room was absolutely perfect. We'll equipped and a really nice size. Very clean and comfortable for the whole family. Dinner was very nice and served really quickly. Loved the breakfast. Choice was great. Cereal, pastries, muffins, yoghurts, fruit, full English plus more! Juice, tea and coffee. Staff and management were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.
Would most definitely recommend and look forward to staying here again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We're very happy that we could make it an enjoyable weekend for you and your family. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, all feedback is a great tool for us to monitor, and improve where necessary, all aspects of our standards and service. We look forward to welcoming you to the Cromwell again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here on 14th February. Gavin the manager was excellent, quick check in and very helpful. Had the 3 course valentines menu, which was nothing short of outstanding, steak cooked to perfection. Our waiter was superb, nothing was too much trouble for him and checked back on us at appropriate intervals. Returned to Bar area after the meal and again Gavin was excellent in making sure we were ok. Room was big enough for a double, and would of had a nice view over the rear garden if it wasnt for the stormy weather, but still had an excellent nights sleep. Breakfast was also excellent and again the waiter from the night before was on and was excellent, even though he had put most of the breakfast buffet away as it was after 10am, he still offered us the full compliment. Briefly saw Mel on check out, very friendly and asked again if our stay was to our liking. Top Marks to this team. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thatwudbetelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience with us. Your comments and feedback is invaluble for us to monitor and review our service, and it is great to hear that we could make your special weekend an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you to The Cromwell again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

was greeted at this hotel by the friendly managers gavin and melanie. upon arriving at the hotel with a speedy check in we were shown to our room. the room was large, well presented and clean.
room 3 had a large double and a bed settee and en suite. the bed was very comfortable so we both had a very good night sleep. the en suite was very clean and the towels were soft and fluffy.
breakfast was well presented and yummy. overall i would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: room 3 is a good family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us this weekend. We are constantly striving to ensure that we deliver the best standards in service we can, and it's great to hear when we get it right. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a function in Banbury, it's very central. Guest parking was full, nowhere for us to park. Staff on duty were very helpful, but there were not enough staff for the amount of guests, running between bar service and reception check-in. Bed was very comfortable. Noisy, squeaking floorboards, need ear plugs for a peaceful sleep. Breakfast was satisfying but again not enough staff to serve, fresh fruit platters and pastry platters empty as only 2 staff serving a whole dining room full of guests. Management needs to manage better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Restless01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about our team. We apologise if there may have been some delays during service, from time to time this can happen. We endeavour to deliver friendly and efficient service to all of our guests, all of the time, however your feedback is invaluable for us to monitor and review our service levels constantly. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
417 reviews
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Property: Cromwell Lodge
Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing