We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wedding experiance”
Review of Cromwell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cromwell Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding experiance”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We held our Daughters wedding reception in the marquee at The Cromwell on 3rd May and I must say Mel, Gavin and the team made it a very easy and pleasant experiance, nothing was too much trouble, they made sure that the Marquee looked fantastic.The only problem we had was that the soup changed and we had 1 guest that was unable to eat it, but they very quickly brought a substitute starter, the food in general was excellent value and it all came out hot. We did occupy 10 rooms overnight the shower in our room was small but adequate, bed very comfortable and yes most of our rooms had creaky floorboards but it's on old building!! The breakfast was plentyfull with a lot of choice. We would certainly recommend The Cromwell as a wedding venue.Well done, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We really appreciate your kind comments and I will be passing these on to the team, and are so grateful to be a little part of you happiness for your special day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    174
    102
    63
    43
See reviews for
84
254
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Cromwell Lodge is a nicely decorated olde worlde pub/hotel near the centre of Banbury. It has a lot going for it and we'd be happy to stay again when we visit Banbury, but we did have some gripes.

The breakfast was delicious....when it arrived. Service on both mornings was very slow.

There seemed to be a hot water problem in our room (room 22.) We had to run the hot water tap in the basin for a long time before the shower received hot water.

The floor boards are very creaky.

Despite these complaints we would be happy to stay again as the hotel is very well located near the town, the beds are very comfortable and the pub serves good food in a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 22 which seemed to have a bit of a delay getting hot water to the shower. Had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our delicious food and good atmosphere in our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as there is always room for improvement and ways in developing our standard of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Cromwell Lodge for two nights, its located very centrally just of the center of Banbury. the hotel is an old building which has been adapted, so some of the rooms and spaces can be tight. We had a " Superior Room " meaning the attic room accessed through a lot of stairs with low ceilings, both in getting to your room and also in the room itself. The en suite facilities were sparse, with no shower other than a hand held unit within the bath.

The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was nice, but we would only recommend this hotel if you were on a tight budget. Banbury does offer easy access to Oxford as the train only takes 20 minutes and at £6 return is cheaper than driving and parking, as you avoid all the traffic delays.

Room Tip: Banbury does offer easy access to Oxford as the train only takes 20 minutes and at £6 return is chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Cromwell. Your feedback is invaluable to enable us to monitor, evaluate and improve our levels of customer service, and develop our team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I spent a very satisfactory night at the Cromwell. It has a nice oldy worldy feel to it. The rooms are massive but are comfortable with everything you need. Yes there are some floor boards that creak and some uneven floors, if that's not for you then look for a modern chain.
Food and drink in the hotel were very reasonably priced and breakfast was included in the price which makes a change these days.
Overall very happy with my stay only wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The expensive overnight accommodation was extremely poor value for money. The hotel generally looked very tired internally.
Our bedroom had a large water stain on the ceiling, the bathroom lock was broken and the shower leaked badly-no where near the expected standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, feedback such as yours is invaluable for us to use and monitor our guests experiences, and where possible such issues are not repeated. We are very sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay, and it would seem that we have fallen short of the high standards that we set ourselves. We sincerely hope that you may visit us again in the future, and may be able to restore some faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banbury hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Booked here for 14 people for a meal for my 60th birthday and was disappointed with the service, 1 of my friends ordered soup for her starter and she didn't get it until well after we had all finished ours.5 of us ordered steak and each one had to be sent back because it was cold and I could not eat my meal as the chips where all soggy with the juice of the stake as the whole meal must have been reheated in a microwave very poor in deed .JUst wish I knew where I could complain to

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As discussed, I do hope you may accept our sincere apologies for the issues that occurred during your visit. We had clearly fallen very short of the high levels of customer service and quality we set ourselves, and genuinely hope that you return, and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend while husband was on business and we really enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room we had was right up in the attic and lovely and clean as was the bathroom. The floors are uneven and sloping but that all adds to the charm as does the creaking floorboards! The breakfast was excellent and we also had a roast dinner there which was good as was the service. The hotel was packed and the atmosphere great, which was no wonder at the bargain price. As our room was at the front we were kept awake all night by the church bells which ring ALL NIGHT, on the hour and half hour right through till 4am. WHY? during the day wonderful, but not continuously throughout the night,. A mystery that one, although not the hotels fault, as the bed was very comfortable, All in all, will definitely stay again. A real bargain, especially if you love old historic buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms on main road are very noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank for your wonderful comments regarding your visit with us. I will share your comments with the team, who I am sure will welcome your views. Feedback such as yours is invaluable for us to constantly review, and where needed improve on our customer service delivery. We look forward to welcoming you to the Cromwell again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
5.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Property: Cromwell Lodge
Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Cromwell Lodge Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing