We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm personified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #26 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charm personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked in for a night after a hot and tiring day spent at the Game Fair at Blenheim (about 25 minutes drive away). We chose this B and B on the basis that it had 3 excellent reviews and the owners have a miniature wire-haired dachshund (Samson)!!!
Rosemary was the perfect hostess; the farmhouse is a 16th century gem; the breakfast was to die for; the village is quite charming and very quiet (the church clock stops chiming at 11pm and the only noise comes from a cockerel (quite far away so not a problem) and the sound of horses hooves on the tarmac. Dinner is not available on a Sunday night and we were directed to the Rose and Crown 100 yards away which is is of Cotswold stone with a thatched roof and served the most wonderful fish platter at a very reasonable £13. The staff could not have been more welcoming but it does get booked up quickly so reservations are recommended.
We were so comfortable, the home made flapjacks in the room typical of the immaculate attention to detail. Nothing was missing and we cannot fault a thing. Very strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My mother and I spent a lovely and relaxing stay at Home Farmhouse in Banbury. We were greeted with an amazing home baked cake and tea by our friendly host, Rosemary. Well needed after sitting in traffic on the M25. Our accommodation was a roomy twin bedroom in the old stables , with comfy sofas and cable TV. Home made biscuits and tea and coffee were also available.
The cooked breakfast just hit the spot and with Rosemary's wealth of local knowledge we embarked on a fun and informative day.
The local pub The Rose and Crown served fabulous and well priced food, with fabulous views as far as the eye could see.
Highly recommended, book now

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 847AnneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I've stayed here several times over the years and have been treated like family each time. It is a beautiful house and Rosemary and Nigel are charming hosts who take a real interest in their guests. The bedroom was lovely and spacious with a digital television and a view across the village. I particularly commend the home-made flatjacks provided in each room!

It provided a great base for visiting attractions such as Oxford, Stratford and the Cotswolds and I would heartily recommend a stay here. I prefer B&Bs to hotels because of the hospitality provided and Home Farmhouse is second to none in that respect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We stayed at Home Farm House for two nights in late September and only wished we could stay longer. We were warmly greeted with tea and cake and delightful conversation with our charming hosts Rosemary and Nigel. Home Farm House is a 16th century grade !! listed couintry village house, full of charm and character in every corner. Our rooms, yes, rooms, were beyond our expectations. The bedroom was spacious, with wonderful original floor boards and beams, and beautifully decorated. But it did not stop there. An adjoining bedsitting room with a tv and a full bathroom completed the upstairs floor which was for our use alone. Breakfast was made to order, and we had the pleasure of the company of two other guests and Rosemary, who took such an interest in us all, that we felt very special. They even made reservations for us for dinner at the local pub "The Rose and Crown", which we also highly recommend. If you're looking for charm, quality accommodation, great food, and warm hospitality, Home Farm House is the place to be.

  • Liked — Character home; Cleanliness; Friendly, warm welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
5.2 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brackley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Great Western Arms
Great Western Arms
#1 of 1 in Aynho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Guest House
Fairlawns Guest House
#4 of 39 in Banbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Farmhouse B & B

Property: Home Farmhouse B & B
Address: Main Street | Charlton near Banbury, Banbury OX17 3DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Home Farmhouse B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Farmhouse B & B Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing