We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Connection

The French Connection
Ranked #114 of 217 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I went to the French Connection a couple fridays ago in the evening with my family. We were not dissapointed with either the service or the food! We shared a platter for starter, which was lovely with plenty to go round, although they were out of calamari, they did provide extra garlic mushroom which are our favorite to be honest. Our mains were all lovely particularly the sirloin steak my husband had, who is often fussy about the way his steak is cooked, but for once he was pleased! Me and my husband shared a bottle of the house white, which was served by a dashing young lad and that we very much enjoyed, also the waitress was very attentive to the kids needing more drinks throughout the meal.

We were not made to wait for a table, and were seated in a lovely seating area where we got to enjoy the evening sunshine! All the staff were very helpful, particularly the lovely bubbly waitress who served us, not only was she very efficient but she also kept our children entertained with her playful nature. In fact all of the staff were very accomodating to the children, a lovely family orientated atmosphere!

All in all I would definetly recoomend this restaurant to my friends, and we will be back to visit soon!
Overall very impressed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty_Manager2014, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Hi Roxanne thanks for the review, and we hope to see you andyour family in the near future.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    64
    52
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Is it management or lack of training?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Premier Inn next door to The French Connection in May on our way to the Channel Port at Dover. The meal, though basic, was well cooked, enjoyable and very ably delivered and presented by a bright and very attentive lady - in short we had no complaints! On our return to the UK in June we had again booked into the Premier Inn and were happy to book a meal in the French Connection. Unfortunately, that proved to be a mistake! We sat by the window in the room with "restaurant service" and were served by an attractive and pleasant young woman - who it transpired had received little in the way of training. A large table in the centre of the room was covered in a number of used plates, cutlery, cloths and spray bottle when we walked in - and all of those items plus a number of others and a collection of trays were still in situ when we left some two hours later. Our food order was taken along with our request for a bottle of white wine and a jug of water. The young lady was very slow in both serving and clearing tables and gave the impression of it being her first night in the role. Some time later a young man (barman/under manager) brought the wine and two glasses (but not water) and upon placing the glasses on the table (he) noted that one of the glasses wasn't clean. He turned to me and surprisingly asked if I wished to have a clean glass!!! I said that I did and also wished to have a wine cooler AND a jug of water. The cooler and the glass were delivered by him - but not the water! The water was eventually delivered at the third time of asking! When the first course was eventually delivered some 35 minutes later we noted that the "Classic French Onion Soup" was far from Classic and had an unfortunate consistency, colour and taste. In all fairness, although the main courses were served very late, we had no particular complaint about them. During the meal, a man we presume to have been the manager, entered the room to speak to other diners and in the process walked past the centre table which remained full of soiled items and trays (and on two occasions utilized the table to "park" his own tray). However, that table remained cluttered at the time we left. It was clear that the waitress was way out of her depth and should have been given some training and support - but no-one in the premises at the time appeared qualified to provide it. When I went to pay the bill I was dealt with by the "manager?" who made no enquiry as to our level of satisfaction - and in any event I chose to believe that a complaint to him would have been a waste of effort on my part! As regards the Premier Inn, we were disappointed to discover on our return in June that the bathroom door could not be closed and the pressure of hot water was so slow that the shower unit could not be used without discomfort! Unfortunately, not a venue I could recommend and one to which I will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Big_Bike_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty_Manager2014, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We’re sorry to hear that, Big_Bike_Buddy. Could you send us an email fcgeneralmanager@gmail.com and we’ll resolve this for you? Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Went there tonight had a lovely meal with a brilliant waiter called Luke. Good service good food good atmosphere I will go back often.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty_Manager2014, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for you feedback Wendy we're glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Excellent Good Value Retaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant is part of the Table Table group & provides a good choice of food at good value prices,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanTizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty_Manager2014, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for you feedback Alan we're glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunny Saturday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We visited on a sunny Saturday, which meant that the restaurant wasn't as busy as it usually is. We were greeted as we entered and told we could sit anywhere we liked, which is nice to be able to pick what will suit your family best, rather than sit where you are told.

A waiter came over to take our drinks order, we showed him a voucher which entitled us to 4 starters, mains and puddings from the menu. We asked if it was okay to use it, he said no problem, and explained how we could use it and what wasn't included. All the items had to be off the main menu, strangely it didn't cover the children's menu, which would have been a saving for the company. My son who is autistic was a little upset at first that he couldn't gave his Usual order, but when we showed him the bigger piece of chicken and pudding he could get, he soon excepted it.

When the starters came up despite asking for tortillas on there own, it did come with cheese on it, they asked if it was okay it would we prefer them to change it. They changed it to plain without a problem. The rest if our staters were perfect as where our mains. In Fact my son ended up with a huge plateful of chicken. We opted for refillable drinks, and these were even brought over to us before our glasses were completely finished. The staff were visible but not in an uncomfortable way, just a kind if were here if you need us way. We didn't feel hurried or rusted to finish our meal. Even after paying we weren't made to feel like we should get out of the place.
We had a lovely enjoyable meal and thanks to the voucher, and the cheeky cocktail I had, we didn't have to pay much on top. See you again soon, where sadly it will be us paying the bill, not Table Table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty_Manager2014, General Manager at The French Connection, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for you feedback Tricia F we're glad you enjoyed your recent experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Connection also viewed

 
Willesborough, Ashford
 
Kennington, Ashford
 

Been to The French Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing