We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How Can a Deli Sandwich Shop Serve up such Rubbish Bread!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chilli Bite

The Chilli Bite
Ranked #54 of 217 Restaurants in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“How Can a Deli Sandwich Shop Serve up such Rubbish Bread!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have heard some real good things about this Deli/Café, but I have two issues with it – Firstly the staff filling sandwiches with their bare hands and not using food handling gloves, this is usually a basic food hygiene out and out No No and therefore I was quite surprised to notice a blonde lady supervising a trainee in this procedure, which I believed to be a senior member of staff.
Secondly at £6 a sandwich I would expect to be offered some kind of artisan bread choice not basic cheap brown or white breads and baguettes, god knows what their mark-up must be. Won’t be back unless they sharpen their act up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gnashie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Me and. My family have been going to the chilli bite every Saturday for 6 years!! The foodies delicious and everyone who works there is very friendly they know are usuals and it is delicious every single time, all of their food Is amazing from the English or South African breakfasts to the hotdogs to the delicious New York deli baguette. Prices for the quality of the food is excellent!! I recommend this cafe to everyone and they all leave with happy faces. Overall the chilli bite is the best ever place to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL FOOD AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

What a delightful place to eat and fantastic service. Superb food and service, one of many independent traders in Ashford that is worthy of support. Marc and his team including Marc junior, Claire and Linda really create a great bite to eat. Nothing is every too much trouble, the cakes are fantastic too! Support the Chilli Bite in Ashford Kent, you wont be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelExperts5102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic Food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

A great place to eat, my hat goes off to Marc and his team at the Chilli Bite, Ashford, Kent for beautifully prepared fresh, tasty and wholesome food. His friendly team compliment the food by the excellent service.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpressKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, back room service needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The food here is wonderful. So much choice you would not get anywhere else and although little on the pricy side, you definitely get what you pay for.
My gripe with them come with the service if you choose to sit at the back room. Staff often struggle to smile while handing you a £6 sandwich and I was there only yesterday (09/02/13) where one couple came in, waited 15 minutes and left as no one bothered to take their order.
In conclusion, if your feeling a little rich, go there and you wont be disappointed yet may think twice before sitting inside for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cloudburst81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chilli Bite also viewed

 

Been to The Chilli Bite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing