We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice mini break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very nice mini break.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the time we got there we really made the most of it. Shopping in Ashford and an early dinner before chilling out in our room. The next day we went to Canterbury after a super breakfast. We had a good look round and took some great photos.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kathy M,

Thank you for providing such a positive 5 star review following your recent visit.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ashford and packed so much into your trip.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    207
    158
    56
    41
See reviews for
157
183
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel was booked by work on my behalf and was perfectly convenient for my needs. Check-in was swift and friendly, and I was in my room within minutes - a ground floor room which overlooked a quad/courtyard.

The room itself was clean, but very dated looking and a bit tired in places - definitely not my taste. The room featured everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn, a hospitality tray with basic tetley tea, instant coffee sticks and milk cartons, a couple of toiletry items in the bathroom and that's about it. There was a Corby Trouser Press in the wardrobe, which I think is a sign of the hotel's age, rather than a innovative feature of the room.

Wi-Fi in this hotel is NOT free unless you are a IHG Rewards Club, Club, Gold or Platinum Member. It's quite expensive if you're not.

I had breakfast included in my rate. The breakfast was very average. I didn't think the quality of the breakfast items was all that good - cheap sausages, fatty bacon and white and watery scrambled egg that was either made from liquid egg or has an awful lot of milk added to it. The pastries however tasted a bit fresher.

Despite my comments above, I did sleep well on both nights and one thing worth mentioning is that the shower was very powerful.

If you get a good rate, then you'll have a perfectly acceptable stay here, however, do look around as there is a Premier Inn about half a mile away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear theskyandseas,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear you found the rooms clean and you were able to sleep well. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel some time ago, and did so again because we could rely on the quality. If anything, it has improved with good clean rooms and very friendly staff. The bar food was very good and nicely presented. The breakfast is the usual buffet style, but instead of trays piled with lukewarm bacon, sausage etc. there were minimal amounts frequently replenished and therefore freshly cooked. It is sometimes said that so called corporate hotels such as this lack service and personality - this is not the case here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspydog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jaspydog322,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to our hotel.

I am grateful for your comments as we constantly strive to deliver or where possible exceed our guest expectations and your positive feedback will motivate us all.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and your recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I wasn't sure how this place would be after reading the reviews but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The meals were a little on the expensive side and mixed quality but theres a big effort going into it and the fish and chips were excellent. However I wanted to write a review to say how great all the staff were. Help[ful, friendly and really dedicated in a way that was unexpected in this sort of chain hotel near a travel terminal. Really great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Matt A,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

I appreciate your comments which help us to review our services and make improvements wherever possible and your special mention of the hotel team’s dedication is highly motivating.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its close proximity to the station for Eurostar next morning. It was more or less as expected but the staff and the food warrant four stars for being so good. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and it was generally quiet. Yes you can hear people passing and we heard someone walking around in the room above but it was minimal.

This isn't a destination hotel and could definitely do with some refurbishment but for one night it completely met our needs. Dinner was surprisingly good and whilst they had run out of something they managed to improvise and fulfill our order. Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful. It was a good start to our holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cher590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear cher590,

Thank you for awarding your recent stay 4 stars.

We are always grateful to hear from our guests and appreciate you highlighting the team and restaurant, which is a great boost for them all.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again on a future visit to the area.

Kind Regards,

Glyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked to stay here with my 4 year old little boy in a non smoking family room, we booked over the phone on the central reservation number & all details were taken & I was told a confirmation email would be sent....never arrived so I phoned back to be told the booking hadn't been completed so I rebooked.....so not a great start & I was reassured that the payment would not be taken twice.
The room was of a good size & the bed, pillows comfy.....if u are lucky enough to be able to sleep....after we were both kept up ALL night as we could hear everything in the room next door......the bathroom was dirty with long dark hair left in the bath.....far from impressed so spoke to the duty manager who saw the filth for himself....& according to him they have had lots of complaints about the thin walls this is because the room we had was a adjoining room with just a door between us.... & despite all the complaints they still have these rooms ??? I had a 4 hour drive with NO sleep at this needs to be looked at surely !!!
The only positive thing about this hotel is breakfast was lovely with a good selection.
For anyone who is disabled request a ground floor room as there are no lifts.
Payment was taken twice so from start to finish I am far from impressed & will not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogiles2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear jogiles2103,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadviser.

Unfortunately the advance purchase booking that you made through our central reservations was booked twice due to their misspelling of your surname. When you brought this to the hotel’s attention the second booking was refunded to your card.

The room you were allocated turned out to be adjoining a room with a poorly child, who was up throughout the night coughing. With the added voices from the parents trying to calm the child this sadly caused you to have an interrupted night.

Once I was made aware, I rang you to apologise and make amends for your stay. We do not normally receive complaints about this room but are very sorry that you were disturbed.

There can be no excuse for lapses in our housekeeping, which has been shared with the housekeeper and her team so that appropriate action can take place.

As discussed when we spoke, I would like to invite you to stay again at which time all will be done to show you that this is not the norm for this hotel.

Regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashford hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Rooms are well kept, clean and spacious. Everyone at the hotel are very friendly and look like they enjoy their job.

Room was 223 was just above the air con units so blocked out any noise in and out including the birds singing.

Food - Got my main before the starter so asked to have my starter first, they took back the main and when it came back it was cold so can only assume it wasn't re-done and just left there. Chips cold, hot dog cold to the point the sauce, mustard, cheese and pulled pork had congealed.

Real shame - I had heard good things about the food from my colleagues and feel rather let down.

Room Tip: Only stayed in room 223. It's at the back of the hotel so quiet but maybe because any noise in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassius2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Cassius2k,

Thank you for recognising our housekeeping and hotel team.

Whilst I am pleased that you would recommend us as value for money, I am sorry though that you were disappointed with the food you had whilst here.

I can assure you that this incident is not the norm and has been discussed with those concerned so that food is delivered in the right order and at the right temperature.

I hope that we can welcome you back again and make your stay a complete success.

Best Regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ashford
Travelodge Ashford
#5 of 8 in Ashford
448 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford - Central

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Address: Canterbury Road, Ashford TN24 8QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ashford - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Ashford Central is ideally situated to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of the Eurostar terminal at Ashford International Station, with links to Disneyland Paris. The hotel is also close to M20 Motorway, Canterbury, Eurotunnel Le Shuttle & Dover Ferry Port for City D'Europe. The hotel offers rooms ranging from Executive, Accessible to Family rooms which are all fully air-conditioned with high-speed Internet access in all the bedrooms, meeting rooms and lounge/lobby. The venue is licensed for civil weddings and can accommodate large parties up to 140 guests with a private bar. There are 6 meeting rooms with air conditioning & natural daylight available for small and large scale meetings. Holiday Inn Ashford Central provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including: Canterbury Cathedral, Leeds Castle, Howletts & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park, Romney & Hythe Dymchurch Railway & McArthur Glen Designer Shopping Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Hotel Ashford
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing