We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on route to France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on route to France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we were travelling to Europe early the next morning via euro tunnel , we picked it as it was pet friendly and we could have our dog in the room , they took a deposite of £50 in case the dog made a mess but there was no actual extra charge . The hotel was very pleasant and clean and the reception staff were very nice .the room was okay but it has to be said it was a bit tired, but well equipped and clean . The shock of staying here was the fantastic meal we had in the restaurant , the food was excellent and the staff were very good ,I would go there again just to eat . It made our trip to Europe very easy as it is only 20 mins from the ferry ports .

Room Tip: Try the sweet potato chips , they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
WOW, what a great review, and as a dog lover myself, I’m so pleased we were able to accommodate you all before your journey.

I’m delighted you enjoyed our food offerings, and your comments will be a great morale booster for the Kitchen Brigade, so thank you.

All of our guests are really important to us, so I hope you will consider returning to us again in the near future, when you will once again receive a warm and friendly welcome.

Thank you again for taking the time to place such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    206
    156
    54
    40
See reviews for
154
181
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here on thursday night before catching the early shuttle to france on friday morning. I'm a gold elite member and use this chain a lot but I have to say this was probably the warmest welcome I've ever received at a UK holiday inn; the lady on reception was friendly and polite and couldn't have made it any more welcoming.

The room was standard Holiday Inn although some of the equipment was a little date; neither the desk lamp nor the reading lamp worked which we reported to the front desk on leaving.

The restaurant attached was good value for money; they produced two well cooked steaks and a decent bottle of wine at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear fatboyuk,

Thank you for your great feedback for which we are very grateful.

As a valued IHG Gold Elite Reward Club member, your comments are particularly appreciated by all the team who take great encouragement and motivation from them.

Thank you for highlighting the friendliness and efficiency of the hotel receptionist, who works hard to deliver a warm welcome to our guests.

Please visit again soon.

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The day was fine on my wedding day, but when it came down to the cake, after only 1 person had some cake, the morning after the whole cake and cake decorations was binned. My wife was so upset no one had the common sense to ask us the question if we want to keep it or not. Not happy with them and the staff. Very unhappy. Please avoid

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Lewis D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ashford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room with sofa bed for 2 nights but on arrival were allocated a room with 2 single beds and told that no rooms with sofa beds were available. Luckily, in the circumstances, our grandson was unable to join us - if he had we would have had a serious problem! This is an average hotel, no swimming pool or leisure facilities. Average breakfast with unappetising scrambled eggs - if you require fried or poached eggs you have to order specially which is not really convenient if you are in a hurry. High wifi charges, even though we are a Priority Club members. We were told 1 hour was free but this proved difficult to access without repeated trips to reception. No fridge in the room which has been available at other Holiday Inns. All in all a disappointing stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackieRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear JackieRaymond,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the over-all issues you had that did not live up to your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the time we got there we really made the most of it. Shopping in Ashford and an early dinner before chilling out in our room. The next day we went to Canterbury after a super breakfast. We had a good look round and took some great photos.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kathy M,

Thank you for providing such a positive 5 star review following your recent visit.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Ashford and packed so much into your trip.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel was booked by work on my behalf and was perfectly convenient for my needs. Check-in was swift and friendly, and I was in my room within minutes - a ground floor room which overlooked a quad/courtyard.

The room itself was clean, but very dated looking and a bit tired in places - definitely not my taste. The room featured everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn, a hospitality tray with basic tetley tea, instant coffee sticks and milk cartons, a couple of toiletry items in the bathroom and that's about it. There was a Corby Trouser Press in the wardrobe, which I think is a sign of the hotel's age, rather than a innovative feature of the room.

Wi-Fi in this hotel is NOT free unless you are a IHG Rewards Club, Club, Gold or Platinum Member. It's quite expensive if you're not.

I had breakfast included in my rate. The breakfast was very average. I didn't think the quality of the breakfast items was all that good - cheap sausages, fatty bacon and white and watery scrambled egg that was either made from liquid egg or has an awful lot of milk added to it. The pastries however tasted a bit fresher.

Despite my comments above, I did sleep well on both nights and one thing worth mentioning is that the shower was very powerful.

If you get a good rate, then you'll have a perfectly acceptable stay here, however, do look around as there is a Premier Inn about half a mile away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear theskyandseas,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is lovely to hear you found the rooms clean and you were able to sleep well. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel some time ago, and did so again because we could rely on the quality. If anything, it has improved with good clean rooms and very friendly staff. The bar food was very good and nicely presented. The breakfast is the usual buffet style, but instead of trays piled with lukewarm bacon, sausage etc. there were minimal amounts frequently replenished and therefore freshly cooked. It is sometimes said that so called corporate hotels such as this lack service and personality - this is not the case here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspydog322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyn J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ashford - Central, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Jaspydog322,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to our hotel.

I am grateful for your comments as we constantly strive to deliver or where possible exceed our guest expectations and your positive feedback will motivate us all.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and your recommendation.

I look forward to welcoming you once again.

Kind regards,

Glyn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
2.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Conningbrook Hotel
The Conningbrook Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ashford - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ashford - Central

Property: Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Address: Canterbury Road, Ashford TN24 8QQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ashford - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Ashford Central is ideally situated to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of the Eurostar terminal at Ashford International Station, with links to Disneyland Paris. The hotel is also close to M20 Motorway, Canterbury, Eurotunnel Le Shuttle & Dover Ferry Port for City D'Europe. The hotel offers rooms ranging from Executive, Accessible to Family rooms which are all fully air-conditioned with high-speed Internet access in all the bedrooms, meeting rooms and lounge/lobby. The venue is licensed for civil weddings and can accommodate large parties up to 140 guests with a private bar. There are 6 meeting rooms with air conditioning & natural daylight available for small and large scale meetings. Holiday Inn Ashford Central provides an ideal base for visiting local attractions including: Canterbury Cathedral, Leeds Castle, Howletts & Port Lympne Wild Animal Park, Romney & Hythe Dymchurch Railway & McArthur Glen Designer Shopping Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Ashford - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Hotel Ashford
Ashford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing