We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashford International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashford International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel again this weekend (7-8 June 2014) and it never fails to deliver. Good decor and ventilation which makes it light and airy. Clean rooms, good service and good food. We stayed in a King size family room for 2 children and 2 Adults, and they made provision of us to be on the ground floor due to hubby's disability; and near all the facilities (e.g pool, Gym, Bar, Dining Area and breakfast room). Only downside was we thought room would be a bit bigger as not cheap for £119.00 for one night stay, but presumed because it was a corner room it had less space. All in all nice relaxing stay as always. Would highly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan07049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear susan07049
Many thanks for your kind recommendation and I’m pleased that you would stay with us again. It is a busy time of year at the moment and our rates do change with our availability. If you would like a room with more space we have a number of superior family rooms which are much larger and have 2 double beds and a separate bath and shower; 2 of these are located on the ground floor. Thanks again and we look forward to your return, Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    494
    174
    60
    30
See reviews for
231
435
43
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

the hotel was lovely but busy.

Our hotel room was comfortable but a bit humid at night.

The spa and leisure facilities are good.

I would recommend booking for dinner in advance as when restaurant busy you might not get a table or have to wait. We had to wait for 20 minutes for a table even though we had booked in advance. This was a little frustrating and not what you would expect when making the effort to book.

Overall we found the staff lovely but one of my friends was spoken to abruptly by one of the breakfast waitresses (name not known).

It is a lovely hotel but we did feel a little let down on occasions whilst dining due to the busy-ness.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear ChristinaGuildford
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and that your room was comfortable. The air-conditioning in the rooms is individually controlled but it is designed to cut off if the windows are open. It is a busy time of year for us at the moment and I’m sorry that you had to wait for your dinner table. I do hope you will visit again in the near future. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at the ashford international on our wedding anniversary and was a pleasant stay. Check in was quick and easy and our room was presented lovely!
On our stay we used the swimming pool and sauna which was also kept clean. We found all members of staff helpful and friendly.
We had breakfast on the day we were leaving and thought that is the only part that let the hotel down. There was a lot of choice to choose from (hot and cold) however the fry up did not taste great. It didn't taste very fresh and was rather cold. Also the orange juice tasted like it was watered down. I would've rather had gone to mc donalds!
check out was quick and easy!
Overall we had a pleasant stay at the ashford international hotel it was just the breakfast that let it down!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank princessKINGXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear princessKINGXX
Many thanks for your review and I’m so pleased to hear your enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy the breakfast; we usually receive such positive feedback about the breakfast and I’d like to reassure you that it is all cooked fresh. I have of course shared your review with the Head Chef and he has taken your comments onboard. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longfield kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

a friend of mine invited me to join her on a spa experience. completly unexpected, which was very gratfully received by myself. we arrived at the hotel around 1pm, we were kept waiting in reception for nearly haf an hour as a guest was having a very heated aurgument with the reception staff. when the young lady got to us she did say how sorry she was but we were rushing to book in as we had treatments for 2.15pm. our room was very nice but we had book twin room and were given a double. we did not have time then to go back to reception as our treatment was ready. must say treatment rooms very nice and you could relax once in there. girls very nice also and we felt a lot calmer after our treatment. we went back to reception to change our room and was told we would have to ask again after 6pm. not sure why but we felt this was unexpectable as we had book a twin room. after a while our room was changed and this also was very nice. the rest of the stay was good. we did not eat there that evening as we were meeting up with friends. breakfast very good and when we checked out this was quick and easy. its just a shame the start of the stay was difficult. would return again even if just for spa treatments.

Room Tip: double check you have the room you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivienne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Vivienne j
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Ashford International Hotel and I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spa treatments and your stay overall. However I’m sorry to learn of the issues with your room type and the delay in correcting this for you. I’d be very grateful if you could email me at dbilling@QHotels.co.uk with the date that you stayed and the name that the room booking was made under so I can investigate further and reply back you. Many thanks and kind regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turners Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay whilst on a spa package deal. The waiting staff were very nice and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel was a little run down in places, with wallpaper starting to peel along corridors and in our room, but generally the hotel was stylish and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannah0488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Hannah0488
Many thanks for your review and I’m pleased that you enjoyed your spa break and the lovely comfy beds. I’d be grateful if you could email me at dbilling@QHotels.co.uk with the room number you stayed in just so I can ask the maintenance address your comments about the wallpaper. Thanks again and kind regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a girly spa night with evening dinner on the sat, breakfast and lunch on the sat with spa treatments on the Sunday. All staff were friendly and were keen to help in any way they could. Will be back sometime soon xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Lisa M
It’s great to her your stay was so enjoyable, thank you. I always share these reviews with the team so they can see how much they are appreciated by our guests. We look forward to your return visit soon. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed last bank holiday as a quick escape from the kids.

Before staying we went to GoApe, which was great.

We arrived at and were checked in by a friendly and efficient member of staff. The main reason we chose this hotel was due to our experience at three other Q Hotels and the quality of the pool area as seen on the website.

We weren't disappointed. The pool and Jacuzzi were lovely. There is also a steam room, sauna, and thermal beds. A really calm and generally nice place. We had the added benefit of it being very quiet when we were there. (only note is that the towels aren't great quality and you need £1 for the lockers)

The rooms were well kitted out. Reasonable size TV with many channels. The bed was really comfortable and the corridor was quiet. The bathrooms are a good size, tastefully decorated but a little dark.

Breakfast the next morning was good. A buffet of hot and cold choices - though the quality was actually very good.

Overall, the hotel was great and we had a great rate. Having stayed at the Mercure in Maidstone, I would recommend Ashford International Hotel more.

This hotel is located near Eureka Park (walk-able) for some restaurants (not a great choice) and a short drive from Ashford Designer Outlet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sam0701
Thanks very much for your review and it’s a pleasure to read that you would recommend us ahead of the Mercure Maidstone! I’m pleased that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and yes, a £1 coin is needed for the lockers. I'm sorry to hear you felt the towels in the leisure club weren't great quality. We’ve recently ordered a new stock of towels for the leisure club and we will continue to review the situation and order more if necessary. I do hope you will get the chance to come and stay again; perhaps with the kids next time? Depending on their age, I’m sure they would love the Tree Top Junior Adventure at Leeds Castle’s Go Ape (age 6-12yrs). Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
20.1 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
12.7 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
9.0 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford International Hotel

Property: Ashford International Hotel
Address: Simone Weil Avenue, Ashford TN24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashford International Hotel is located close to J9 of the M20 motorway and minutes from the Eurostar terminal, Channel Tunnel and only 36 minutes from London. The hotel boasts 19 state-of-the-art conference rooms and 179 sumptuous bedrooms. The hotel has a contemporary brasserie style restaurant Horizon, Costa Coffee and the more informal sports bar with pool table, Quench. Leisure and Spa facilities feature a 20m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Technogym, relaxation suite and six beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashford International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel International
Ashford International Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing