We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lane roped swim” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashford International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashford International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lane roped swim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was pleasant and food was fine, if a bit short on the portions.

Gym fine, as in actually a gym rather than a room with a running machine and a rower.

Swimming pool a reasonable length, ie about 14/15 front crawl strokes, and had a lane roped off for length swimming. This was the highlight for me as otherwise it's frustrating to have to dodge those in a pool but not swimming.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Triingharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Triingharder,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay at Ashford International Hotel. Many thanks for your comments regarding the restaurant, I shall certainly feed this back to the team. I am pleased that you also found the gym and swimming pool to your liking. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Deirdre Billing General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    494
    174
    60
    30
See reviews for
231
436
43
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Benghazi, Libya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Characterless and bland on the outside, but good enough inside, light and airy reception, very clean. A good breakfast, outrageously expensive bar.

The staff are a delight, heaven only knows where the company finds them.

Only two minor issues; no spare room blanket, and no room safe. The latter I found very odd, although not a problem for me on this occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seldomwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear seldomwrong,
Many thanks for recently reviewing our hotel. Thank you for your kind words toward our team, they always enjoy receiving feedback. We regularly review our bar prices to ensure we remain competitive with other local 4* hotels. We also have room safes in a number of upgraded rooms, and we are able to provide any extra blankets on request. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Deirdre Billing General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed here many times.the rooms are good and clean. They are a good size, the bathrooms are well sized and equipped. Would recommend as a good stop over hotel for a quiet night .Well positioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Acker53,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you have found your stay so enjoyable, and that you felt your bedroom was so well equipped. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Deirdre Billing General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is very well located, convenient to grocery store (down the stairs in the back lot), clean, friendly, and the restaurant and included breakfasts are good. Retail shopping and additional dining options are not far away either. Free wifi too. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Scott S,
Many thanks for recently reviewing our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the breakfast which is very popular with our guests! We are one of the few hotels in the area to offer complimentary wi-fi to all guests and visitors, I am glad that you found it useful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Deirdre Billing General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here one night on the way to the Euroshuttle. The hotel was adequate, good price and well-situated. I would rank it as about half a step up from a Premier Inn. Perfectly fine for a night, but would not want to stay here longer.

Pros:
Very friendly reception staff. Great work - wonderful greeting to hotel, great with our baby son, friendly, and efficient. A credit to the hotel.

Room clean enough (see comment on curtains) and fine. Cot was already in room which was good. Cot clean and good.

Comfy bed.

Price and location

Breakfast - decent range, staff very friendly, nice clean high chair.

Cons:
Some sort of hen party (I think) kept making a lot of drunken noise near our room during the night.

Room service girl arrived without cutlery and didn't manage to be quiet despite us asking her to keep her voice down so as not to wake the baby. Room service food was not great.

Room decor is a matter of personal taste. However, the combination of red, hot pink and orange in our room, really did not work for me. There also appeared to be some sort of burn marks (cigarette burns?) on the curtains.


In short, a decent hotel with very good reception staff. Perfectly adequate for overnight stops, but less noise would help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear AngharadM,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at Ashford International Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and that the reception staff were friendly and efficient. I am sorry to learn about the issues with your room service and I have addressed these with our Restaurant & Bars Manager. I would be grateful if you could email me at dbilling@qhotels.co.uk to advise your room number so I can have our Housekeeping team check the curtains. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you will consider staying with us again. Kind regards, Deirdre Billing General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Ashford International
We stayed on night on route to the ferry. This is a large & modern hotel. The room was okay but only a little better than a Premier Inn room with still & fizzy water in the room and the bathroom being slightly better appointed.
We got no road or other noise in our room. Wifi was good throughout the hotel.
The bar was pricy as was the restaurant and you'd be better making a trip into town to eat. Breakfast was served from 7:30. All the staff were pleasant & helpful but overall I thought it was a little expensive.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Rodders27
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it’s great to hear the team were pleasant and helpful. Our WiFi is free for all guests and customers and we are one of only a limited number of hotels to offer this without restrictions. Your room rate also includes full use of the pool and gym facilities and I hope you had time to make use of them. Please also be assured that we regularly review our bar and restaurant prices to make sure we are competitive to other 4 star hotels in the area. Thanks again and I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at ashford international hotel a few days ago on business. I wasn't expecting much from the outside but inside it's great. Looks like it's been renovated in the recent past. Modern decor and well designed.

The staff were friendly and polite. We had lunch and breakfast at the hotel and they were both very good. This certainly wasn't a 4 star hotel that doesn't deserve it. It was well deserved in my opinion.

The only reason I haven't given this a 5 star rating was that the corridors looked a little tired in places and some of the windows looked old fashioned. It might sound odd but it was if the budget ran out on the rest of the hotel upgrade. However it is somewhere that I would highly recommend and I would stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheekyKush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear CheekyKush
Many thanks for your review. QHotels invested £11m back in 2008 however I’m sure you’ll agree the maintenance and housekeeping teams do a great job in maintaining the facilities. In fact, just this week we are having our 2 largest event rooms, the Kent and Canterbury suites redecorated and we will be getting quotes to redecorate the corridors at the same time. Your kind recommendation is very much appreciated and we look forward to your return soon. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
20.1 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
9.0 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
12.7 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford International Hotel

Property: Ashford International Hotel
Address: Simone Weil Avenue, Ashford TN24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashford International Hotel is located close to J9 of the M20 motorway and minutes from the Eurostar terminal, Channel Tunnel and only 36 minutes from London. The hotel boasts 19 state-of-the-art conference rooms and 179 sumptuous bedrooms. The hotel has a contemporary brasserie style restaurant Horizon, Costa Coffee and the more informal sports bar with pool table, Quench. Leisure and Spa facilities feature a 20m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Technogym, relaxation suite and six beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Ashford International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel International
Ashford International Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing