We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed, but just lacking a few fine details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashford International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good indeed, but just lacking a few fine details”
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was our bolthole on the Christmas run to relatives across the channel, a place for the kids to let off steam.

The pool was essential for this and was our main reason for choosing the hotel; good size (20m), lovely hot tub and sauna and steam room for the grownups - although be warned that children are not allowed in after 7pm, so if our arrival had been delayed by bad weather we might have been out of luck. There is only one family changing room (with six lockers in it) so there was a queue to get in - use the male/female facilities if possible.

Our room was as beautifully decorated as the rest of the hotel, although we had to ask twice for the kids' sofa bed to be made up. Limited TV channels and nothing to distract the children. The warm air heating was thermostat controlled in the room itself so we had a good night's sleep (but the swimming kit didn't dry). No internet access.

The bar sells Costa coffee and staff were on hand with kids' activity packs. The restaurant is frankly superb, with some outstanding dishes (the confit of rabbit and the corn fed chicken topped the bill) and high quality ingredients throughout at a reasonable price. Once we had asked about it, we got the kids menu - perhaps it should have arrived automatically with ours. It is nicely varied and under-fives eat free, although we had fun convincing the staff of our tall four-year-old's age! The restaurant does not open until 7 which is late for small ones but well worth it. Breakfast buffet was good (beware of the coffee) and we caused some chaos by asking for hot chocolate for the kids (good little french children) which we were told was coming, then not available, and which finally arrived as we left.

Overall a beautiful hotel and well positioned for channel crossings - let down by a few details of service, and only just within the value for money bracket.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kickingcatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear kickingcatfish
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and I’m pleased you found it conveniently located for the channel. The finer details that you mentioned regarding service have been reviewed to ensure customer satisfaction for all our guests in the future. Just to let you know, free wifi for guests is available throughout the hotel. Please do keep an eye on our website for all the best offers and rates available for the next time you and your family travel to France.

Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    520
    187
    65
    34
See reviews for
253
468
44
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I would be tempted to try this hotel again in warmer weather. The room was just so cold and not helped by the fact that the duvet was skimpy to say the least, am sure it would have easily covered two very slim five footers but not us! For one person it would have been ok. I would have thought a hotel would be geared up to clear their car park or at least salt it in bad weather but it was lethal with solid ice. The entrance to the block of rooms which included ours,147, was strange it was as if you went into a trades mans entrance and then came back in again and was all so very scruffy you wondered what the room would be like. Then a pleasant surprise, the room was really good apart from the heating, it was spacious, everything else worked, nicely decorated and good bathroom, hence my comment that I would try it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear arthurh
Thank you for your review and I’m glad to hear that generally the bedroom was to your satisfaction. It goes without saying that the weather in December was exceptionally cold with ice and snow and every effort was made to ensure the main pathways leading to the hotel were gritted regularly. We look forward to welcoming you again, perhaps when the weather is a little warmer! The terrace outside Horizon Restaurant is a lovely place to enjoy a relaxing drink in the summer.
Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I stay at the International for a day most weeks on business and have always found the staff to be some of the best I've come across. The rooms are a decent size (though the "energy-saving" light bulbs take time to warm up so initally it is all rather dim), the breakfasts excellent and the gym is well-equipped. It is easy to get to - very close to the M20 junction.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Breenie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear Breenie747
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It’s wonderful to hear that you stay with us on a weekly basis and that you enjoy our excellent breakfasts and fully equipped Technogym. Thank you also for your feedback about the energy saving light bulbs, I have shared it with our Maintenance Manager for his consideration. We are very proud to be recognised for our sustainable business practices by the Kent Environmental Awards 2010 as well as being a silver awarded hotel with the Green Tourism Business Scheme. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2010

The room itself was very nice, clean and modern. Unfortunately the TV didn't work as we wished to watch a pay for view movie...no not a blue movie but the A Team! The room was very cold during the night and that was with the weather warming up a few days before our stay. The walls are very thin, and due to the time of year it was very noisy with a Christmas party taking place. Suppose this is expected, although a little awkward when you can hear the couple in the room above making love and you are praying your 7 year old son doesn't wake to ask what the noise is ! ':o$
We still enjoyed ourselves, (maybe not as much as the couple above), and breakfast was good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeenlightened1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear yeenlightened1
Thank you for your review. I’m pleased that you and your family enjoyed yourselves and the breakfast. We have not experienced any issues with our pay movies recently however if you would be kind enough to contact me at lhumphries@QHotels.co.uk with your room number and the date you stayed, I will be happy to investigate this further. I’m glad to hear that you would stay at Ashford International Hotel again and we look forward to being of service when you do.
Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The venue was comfortable and mostly compatible to our needs, however and sadly a huge and my only disappointment was the hotel Disability facilities, these compounded and complicated every aspect of any/every impaired persons independence, you could`nt get all wheelchairs through the Disabled facilities doorway, and there were 4 doors, there was no thought or reasoned consultation even in basic needs, human rights, hygienic and/or otherwise, being disabled at this particular hotel meant being isolated and shoved to the back of this very modern building, treated as if contagious, there were no emergency pull `help` cords and it would appear a general policy of `out of sight out of mind` to the affluent punter or, simply disabled people not welcome.
Which totally shocked me for a hotel whose business is mainly conferences, our business was diversity and equality based. If this hotel were to have decent and accessible disability facilities, where the independence and dignity of people and their carers were not compounded and affronted, this hotel truely would be the place for `all` conferences, it could proudly and cleanly advertise this and, be one of the few hotels particularly in Kent/UK to boast of being a truely modern and fit for `any` purpose hotel.
there is plenty of room for appropiate disabled facilities and no excuse not to have these.
Does the question of `no pets` include dogs for the blind/visually impaired?
Would i recomend this hotel?, maybe this should ask, `would i recomend this hotel to a friend who is disabled, or just my friends who arent disabled?

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
Dear Welltravelled2020

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that overall you had a comfortable stay with us however I was saddened to hear how you feel about our disabled facilities. At QHotels we endeavour to provide the same high quality service and facilities to all our guests. Our purpose built accessible rooms have emergency pull cords that link directly to reception from both the bedroom and the bathroom. As do the public facilities which are located on the ground floor along the conference room corridor and near the leisure club. We are also a pet friendly hotel and allow dogs for blind/visually impaired guests to stay free of charge. In our reception area we proudly display a gold award certificate from the Ashford Access Group. If you would like to contact me personally by emailing lhumphries@QHotels.co.uk, we have a comprehensive accessibility policy and I will be more than happy to discuss this with you in greater detail. We take our customers comments very seriously and the comfort of our guests is paramount. Kind Regards Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here overnight before catching the Eurostar to EuroDisney the next morning, with our three young kids. check-in was swift and well handled. Our two rooms - next to each other, were well laid out, nice colours and with good bathrooms. For the price, they were excellent. Our kids room was the executive style - a little more but then heavily discounted as they were kids. It was a bargain, and we could all have slept in there!!
Before dinner we had a drink at th bar and had to wait ages as there was only one person serving, with loads waiting and the barman was doing waiting orders too. Really frustrating. We used the restaurant for dinner (as the hotel is miles from anywhere!). The lighting was overly harsh - a shame as it's not a bad room and it was almost full. Sadly the service suffered from understaffing, like the bar. They were all very nice peole, but just trying to do too much. the food was tasty and well priced. But 2 hours for a starter and main course with three tired kids was too long. My red wine was delivered after I'd finished my main course!! Shame. However, we'd definitely stay there again as it ticked alll the boxes generally, was great value for money - they just need to look at staffing numbers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear jw6969

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m pleased that you found your stay great value for money and that your check-in was well handled. Please accept my apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced in the restaurant and be assured your comments have been shared with the Restaurant Manager to ensure we maintain our high levels of service. However it is encouraging to hear that you would stay with us again and I hope we can restore your confidence next time.

Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Check in was comfortable, easy and quick. Internet is only allowed over 2 hours from the reception desk.
Sleep quality was very good. Rooms were quiet, well designed, great colours. Breakfast was good and nice to eat.
Recommend to stay for business trips.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smehta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations11, Guest Relations Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Dear smehta123
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you found our hotel ideal for your business trip and that you would recommend us to other business travellers. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Louise Humphries, Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
20.0 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
12.7 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford International Hotel

Property: Ashford International Hotel
Address: Simone Weil Avenue, Ashford TN24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashford International Hotel is located close to J9 of the M20 motorway and minutes from the Eurostar terminal, Channel Tunnel and only 36 minutes from London. The hotel boasts 19 state-of-the-art conference rooms and 179 sumptuous bedrooms. The hotel has a contemporary brasserie style restaurant Horizon, Costa Coffee and the more informal sports bar with pool table, Quench. Leisure and Spa facilities feature a 20m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Technogym, relaxation suite and six beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashford International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel International
Ashford International Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing