We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just disgusting”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Ranked #23 of 217 Restaurants in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are closed on Mondays. We serve food Tuesday - Saturday 12:00pm to 2:00pm & 6:00pm to 9:00pm. On Sundays we provide Roast Dinners & Roast Meat Baguettes, with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 4:00pm (No evening meals served on a Sunday)
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just disgusting”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

no atmosphere, dirty inside, landlady unwelcoming, bitter was off, meals were rather over cooked or undercooked and make thing a big fluffy dog come out of the kitchen, I say you when see this pub get as far away as you can.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kentishfella111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Looking through trip adviser this morning I cannot believe we have another completely untrue and totally unjustified awful review. I always make sure when people come into our pub we are warm and friendly to all who come in here. I clean the pub myself and it is not dirty. My husband is the chef and if you look through other reviews made by genuine customers who have eaten here there is nothing other than praise for all his efforts!!! Ales are always on 2 or 3 at a time so I've no idea where that's come from. We do have a lovely dog but he lives outside of the pub as he is a guard dog. Comments like yours which are totally untrue have a massive damaging affect on people's businesses. We have worked very very hard for the past 2 years to get the swan to where we are at now. If there was a problem if you visited it would of been nice of you to come to see us and air your opinion in person
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    42
    10
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
“Swan fest success! ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stumbled across this charming local pub and we are so glad we did! The friendly bar staff were more than accommodating, pointing us in the direction of their first beer and music festival where we were confronted with an abundance of real ales and above average BBQ. Good value for money and a great day out, ended up staying for the whole afternoon. Will defiantly be back to try out their excellent selection of home cooked real country pub food!

Helpful?
Thank Mwellsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Real Ale Pub”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Phil & Kirsten re-opened this old village pub late last year, after it had been closed for 6 months. They have quickly established a loyal local trade, & their reputation for good beers, & good home-cooked food is spreading. The recent Beer Fest was a great -and well-deserved- success for them. Phil keeps the beer well, & rotates guest ales whilst keeping a few staples going regularly. There's sometimes a bit of sport on the box, but it isn't a major theme here. He also does BBQs quite often weather permitting. Garden in front gets busy on a fine day. That out the back is being readied for action. The Boss & I haven't eaten here yet, but we're edging closer. There are several circular walks from the pub, of varying lengths, mostly on quiet lanes or off road. No fruit machines! (or other similar irritations). Generally pleasant atmosphere. Friendly, professional staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here with my family one afternoon. Put off by rude staff/landlady/owner or whoever she was who swore in front of my kids, a crowd of lairy, paralytic locals on an all day drinking binge, a broken women's toilet and gents toilet floor half an inch deep in urine. Decided not to sample the menu. Nice old building, if a bit tatty, in a pretty village but on the whole, not the classiest establishment the area has to offer and not an experience we will be repeating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffazakerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie D, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
In response to your review. I was horrified and very upset to see the unjustified comments left on your review. We pride ourselves on being a warm friendly and accommodating pub. We are food led therefore we have and would never have a crowd of paralytic people in here. None of our toilets are broken and I clean them so know that there would never be a load of urine on the floor. I feel therefore that the comments left are unfair and untrue and damaging to all the hard work and effort our family have put in over the past two and a half years to make the swan a lovely place to come to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lovely little restaurant in a small village off the beaten track.
Good food and lovely staff.
Great meal with lots of home cooked food.
Worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186336John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 
Bethersden, Kent
Kennington, Ashford
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing