We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, welcoming place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kindling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Huge bed
Just add bubbles!
The Plough Inn  150 yards away!
Our local  Cosy as could be
Great range of local beers
Stalisfield Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emily F
1 review
“Beautiful, welcoming place”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

An absolutely lovely stay in this beautiful cottage on our long weekend away. Frank and Christine were incredibly welcoming and very lovely people who provided us with eggs, bread and milk for breakfast the next morning, thought that was a lovely touch to our welcome. It also had everything else provided for us to cook. And if we didn't fancy cooking a great place practically next door called the Plough Inn. We came for a long weekend away to watch the racing at Brands Hatch and was great to come back for some relaxing evenings in. Kindling Cottage was so lovely I couldn't possibly complain about anything on our stay and would definitely love to come back to stay here for a week next time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway19...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thank you to Frank & Chrissie for a wonderful relaxing week spent in your holiday home. The accommodation has everything you could wish for. Immaculate, top quality and so convenient for smashing local pubs and the towns of Kent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCJ2012
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in Perfect Location”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Absolutely perfect - hope to return.
Would give this cottage 12 out of 10!!
Everything you could possibly want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickyTim
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect away from it all break.”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were looking for somewhere to get away from it all, and Kindling Cottage fits the bill to a tee. Situated on the edge of a small village, but only a very short stroll from the excellent Plough Inn. The cottage itself is fitted out with all your needs and is of an excellent standard.
The owners, Frank and Chrissie could not have been more helpful, and the welcoming flowers and groceries were a lovely touch.
All in all a great week, we will return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful rural retreat for two”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a perfect cottage, away from it all and set in the owners' beautiful garden. Chrissie and Frank are so welcoming and provide a very generous collection of goodies including milk, bread and eggs. The blackcurrant jam was delicious!! The cottage itself is very well appointed, having everything one could possibly need.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a moment of peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary1Sout...
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restful cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideal cottage for couples. Lovely bright, light cottage with everything you need. Ideal to visit many attractions and for walking. Although close to the owners house Frank and Chrissie where very friendly but not intrusive but available if you need information. The Plough pub a few minutes walk away is friendly with good food. All in all a restful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, airy, with beautiful garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna P
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous cottage, has everything you need!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and I stayed here in February 2015 for my husband's birthday as we wanted to visit Canterbury and the surrounding area. What a great find!
We cannot fault the cottage at all - it is lovely and comfortable, the decor is modern and shabby chic style - bathroom and all amenities are lovely. Wi-fi really good too. Kitchen has everything that you need and more! The little extras in the food basket that Frank and Chrissie give you are brilliant, and really makes the difference from other holiday cottages that we have stayed in.
Would recommend - by far the best place to stay in the area if you want to get away from it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was all lovely
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing