We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay with grandchildren”
Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay with grandchildren”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I recently stayed two nights with my daughter and two children at this hotel Saturday 18th and Sunday19th May. It was excellent. With two lively boys they made us very welcome and were so good with the children that they behaved really well. The family room was spacious and comfortable. The evening meal was good quality food and excellent value for money. I particularly liked the fact that the children could choose from the normal menu and not have to have chicken nuggets yet again. We were charges a child's price and they felt very grown up. The only downside was the fact that we did not know that the bar and restaurant was not open on a Sunday and that there were no staff on the premises on the Sunday, just popping in and out. Actually we then had to drive for dinner and were not able to sit downstairs once the children went to bed. I do not think we would have booked the hotel if we had known that. Other than this small thing everything else was impeccable. If the owners read this please tell future bookings about the Sunday, such a shame

Room Tip: They have lovely family rooms. We had room one which was quiet overlooking the courtyard as the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pencleddau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    75
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
42
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My partner and I went mid-week for a meal as a treat. We were made so welcome and we felt at home in the relaxed atmosphere. The bar & restaurant are subtly themed with a musical motif which is a great conversation starter playing "guess the album".
We had a plate of nachos to share to start, tasty without being too hot in the spice department :-) To follow we had the chicken & bacon salad and the chilli with rice. Both dishes were superb and generously portioned. Overall, a really nice evening with great service and delicious food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

When we arrived at 3 -30 pm no one in so had to ring mobile number ( good job we had service on ph )Room was ok but only i chair in double room .Plug in sink off chain so struggled to remove when water in sink. Full english although asked if wanted toms non arrived staff friendly .Ps chair was on way out good job not very heavy. The breakfast tasted good and plenty of tea/coffee /fruit juice and cereals .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Where shall I start? Myself, my boyfriend and another couple booked two nights here as we were attending a wedding locally. The welcome on arrival was very warm and friendly and we were met by one of the newly returned owners Lisa. The room was everything we needed for our short break and the bar and restaurant has a fun music theme to it. We didn't get a chance to eat here in the evening but the food certainly looked good. The breakfast was tasty and good quality with choice of cereals, toast and full English (and all in the room price). We would definitely recommend this hotel and would come back again anytime. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellemybelle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Wow not just great value for money (£9.95 for 2 courses) but tender meat, roast potatoes to die for, fresh veg and the staff are first class. If your in the area on a Sunday and you wanna roast then this has to be best in town

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrSiSnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Six of us went for dinner last week to celebrate a birthday. The ambience was great, the staff welcoming and the food was fab! The bar area was lovely to eat in and has the perfect atmosphere to make it a great 'local'.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tallulahYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
301 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just had sunday lunch here with my wife, sister and fiancé. It was very well cooked and I couldn't fault it. For desert I had the cheese and biscuits which were enough for two. All for £10. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the cheese and biscuits. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing