We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Preston Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel very last minute after searching a last minute website. We arrived around 9.30pm to a fairly quiet bar with a nice atmosphere. I didn't catch the guy's name but he was South African and was very welcoming with my two children, my partner and I. We were quickly checked in and then escorted to our room which was in a chalet style strip behind the hotel, our children thought it was fantastic and so did we. We especially liked that we could park right outside our chalet door. The chalet consisted of a single and a double room and a bathroom featuring a bath and a shower. We had a lovely bath and a great nights sleep. We went over for breakfast at 8.30am the next morning and had fresh juices, teas, coffees, cereal and toast. We were met with a friendly welcome and ordered full English breakfasts, we all asked for slightly different options which was no trouble at all. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. The room soon filled up and although the lady was busy nothing was too much trouble and everyone was met with the same cheery welcome. The decor in the communal areas was really lovely, stylish and contemporary. We checked out soon after to continue our journey to Minehead. I can't praise this hotel enough. Excellent atmosphere, lovely food, great rates, friendly staff and a great experience.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xJodieDawnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

When we booked this hotel back in January 2013; due to a friend's forthcoming wedding, I feared the worst and hope for the best - working on the theory; 'well - so long as its clean'

What a pleasant surprise! The bar area was bright; colourful and welcoming - the staff were really helpful and the room was bright, spacious and spotless. We stayed in the main house, opting for a family room which had a double bed and two singles; with en-suite bathroom (which had an amazing electric power shower) My parents booked a double room and were located in the chalet style rooms which were again spacious and had an additional single bed.

The staff were really good - my parents arrived really early on the day of check in (due to a washed out night camping the night before) and they were immediately offered their room and even breakfast - which was so kind and really appreciated.

When we arrived later that day we received a warm friendly welcome.

We ate in the hotel that evening and the food was good; not groundbreaking; not AA restaurant standard - but not pricey either;

When we visit our friends in this area again; we would definitely stay here again - the new owners are really trying to make this place work and if the cooked breakfast is anything to go by they have nothing to worry about. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel in Yeovil is a short distance away from the famed Thomas Hardy Dorset, relatively small but with an excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms. It is centrally located a short walk from the town centre including the Quedam shopping center. The walk take you across Sydney Gardens that leads to a pedestrian bridge to Silver Street, where there is an Italian restaurant that is both reasonable in price and great in quality.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the bartender was an interesting fellow originally from South Africa and provided some useful hints on where to go in the surrounding countryside.
A must walk is the Nine Springs area part of the Aldon Estate where countless birds and streams follow a path used during the last century by a train line, 6 miles away Sir Walter Raleigh's castle at Sherborne awaits the historical buff.

Room Tip: Try one away from Preston Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 828MichaelD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived today and are staying three nights. I have to say this has to be the best value hotel in Somerset. Friendly cheerful staff, clean comfortable room, a buzzing bar area and all for a bargain price. What a find. The only minus is in my room (5) you can hear a lot of the bar noise and music but I sleep with ear plugs and the bar closes at 11 so not a problem for me. Ask for a quieter room higher up if you need to. Recommended!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank electra5369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Clean hotel with the friendliest staff ever.Tim the Manager cant do enough and immediately welcomes you.
The bar is inviting and drink prices good. Our room was a little quirky but fun and for a family ideal as it had a double and 3 singles.
Full English breakfast,good.
Good Luck to Paul and all his team would certainly recommend.Good value for money at £60 double.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stayed at the Preston for the May bank holiday weekend with friends and can thoroughly recommend it. The service received was excellent throughout and we had absolutely no complaints.
The owners were very accommodating and even found as safe place to store our cycles during our stay.
The food was tasty and good value.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Firstly I would say that the Preston represents great value - but you could get that with a room from a budget chain. For the same price you could stay at a great hotel and bar where nothing is too much trouble - from allowing us to park our bikes in one of the dining rooms to making us feel extremely welcome at all times. Food was both great, and exceptional value. The wines on offer (with recommendations too!) were very much enjoyed. Good humour, good cheer throughout.

Rooms and facilities were good. Will go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Adders69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
4.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
252 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Bed & Breakfast

Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England (Formerly The Preston Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range: £48 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Preston B&B, we offer spacious single, double and family rooms located in the main building on the second floor and also in our chalet-motel style rooms at the rear of the hotel car-park. A full english breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking is included in your room rate. NB: As of Sunday 3rd September 2017, we will no longer be offering an evening-restaurant service to guests and the public. We will still be offering a full-english breakfast to all of our residents which is included in the room rate. Again, if any problems don't hesitate to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Bed & Breakfast Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing