We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I will be back”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

For a business visit to Yeovil The Preston did all I needed. Comfortable room, good food, friendly service and a quiet night's sleep. The wifi is free and worked everywhere, there's a car park and a good choice of beer and wine. Add to that the dinner bed and breakfast price of £60 and you can see why this will be my Yeovil stopover of choice!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bebobbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
48
42
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Booked into the preston for a 3 night stay, did not read any reviews beforehand so we were not swayed in any way. The room we had was as a motel, 1 Double bed 2 single beds loads of wardrobe space and cupboard space, nice leather armchair and a leather desk chair as well. A 44 inch wall mounted TV plenty of coffee and tea to use , usual toiletries and soap. Very good choice of breakfasts ie full English, cerial toast juice etc.The food was just fine no complaints at all there, one or two little bits missing in bathroom but no big deal. In all a pleasant stay very nice and polite staff and we would definately use this Hotel/Motel again.

Room Tip: An end room would be best as no one on one side of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having rushed down last minute from Wales to visit a friend in hospital, we realised at 9pm that we had nowhere to stay! I went on line and the Preston cuaght my eye as it was only around the corner so booked online and had a warm welcome upon arrival. We were shown to our bedroom, wich was at the back of the carpark in a chalet style line. Both my partner and i both agreed we must have slept well as the first thing we remember after going to bed was waking up in the morning! When we went in to the dining room we had a nice welcome, and a lovely cooked breakfast, cereal tea, coffe, juice, toast etc.
if we ever find ourselves back in Yeovil we will be returning to the Preston!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurfy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtonwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

from the look of the outside we were a little bit nervous, but the place is really nice, bar & restaurant is well done, brilliant service, friendly, efficient and the food is amazing
tasty breakfast with a good selection
good beds
nice rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Positives;
The Welcome on arrival in a clean and well presented bar area.
The room in the rear building set out well for 3 persons (family) reasonably clean and catered well for our needs.
Bar and patio area very pleasant to sample the local drinks and relax.
Breakfast in the bar area was reasonably presented and cooked as per my request.
Hotel within 1 mile of the town centre.

Note to Hotel owner.
I appreciate that spiders are out and about at this time, many of which appeared to have been squashed onto the bedroom walls and into the paint!
If I could suggest that your cleaner also hoover the corners of the ceilings and walls in order to suck up the webs and spiders.

Overall a pleasant stay and if in the area again 'We would revisit and stay'

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel very last minute after searching a last minute website. We arrived around 9.30pm to a fairly quiet bar with a nice atmosphere. I didn't catch the guy's name but he was South African and was very welcoming with my two children, my partner and I. We were quickly checked in and then escorted to our room which was in a chalet style strip behind the hotel, our children thought it was fantastic and so did we. We especially liked that we could park right outside our chalet door. The chalet consisted of a single and a double room and a bathroom featuring a bath and a shower. We had a lovely bath and a great nights sleep. We went over for breakfast at 8.30am the next morning and had fresh juices, teas, coffees, cereal and toast. We were met with a friendly welcome and ordered full English breakfasts, we all asked for slightly different options which was no trouble at all. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty. The room soon filled up and although the lady was busy nothing was too much trouble and everyone was met with the same cheery welcome. The decor in the communal areas was really lovely, stylish and contemporary. We checked out soon after to continue our journey to Minehead. I can't praise this hotel enough. Excellent atmosphere, lovely food, great rates, friendly staff and a great experience.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xJodieDawnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When we booked this hotel back in January 2013; due to a friend's forthcoming wedding, I feared the worst and hope for the best - working on the theory; 'well - so long as its clean'

What a pleasant surprise! The bar area was bright; colourful and welcoming - the staff were really helpful and the room was bright, spacious and spotless. We stayed in the main house, opting for a family room which had a double bed and two singles; with en-suite bathroom (which had an amazing electric power shower) My parents booked a double room and were located in the chalet style rooms which were again spacious and had an additional single bed.

The staff were really good - my parents arrived really early on the day of check in (due to a washed out night camping the night before) and they were immediately offered their room and even breakfast - which was so kind and really appreciated.

When we arrived later that day we received a warm friendly welcome.

We ate in the hotel that evening and the food was good; not groundbreaking; not AA restaurant standard - but not pricey either;

When we visit our friends in this area again; we would definitely stay here again - the new owners are really trying to make this place work and if the cooked breakfast is anything to go by they have nothing to worry about. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing