We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Preston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Preston Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my grandson on March 29th 2014 as we were going to the football ;-) all the staff were really friendly for our stay, food very good and very well presented ( looked too good to eat) nice bar area where I sampled a few pints of the black stuff ;-) our chalet was very roomy and spotless ;-) if ever I'm in Yeovil again I will definitely stay at the Preston again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank burtfrombarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    77
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
43
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for a football weekend and were very impressed. The hotel itself is classy, with a big stylish bar and good draft ales. The whole place has a friendly atmosphere and the staff could not do enough to help or advise. The rooms themselves are comfortable, clean and the power shower is a perfect way to start the day! The hearty full English breakfast was spot on and the evening menu was so good (and reasonable) we came back after the match to eat at the hotel. Overall 10/10. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were visiting Yeovil for a football match, and decided to make a weekend of it. The hotel was brilliant, easy to find, and was within walking distance of both the town and the stadium. We had rooms in the 'chalets' outside and for once, the walls weren't paper thin. The rooms were a good size, very clean, and the bed really comfortable. AND the showers were hot and powerful. Staff were friendly and helpful; booking taxis, advising on places to eat etc.. and the whole experience was terrific. Everyone at the hotel, staff, regualrs and visitors were friendly and welcoming. This is definitely one place we want to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the chalet rooms at the back of the car park. They are quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location, it's on a main road so easy to find by car and it's a few minutes by bus into the town centre.

We stayed there for a football match at Huish Park and it's 20mins walk from the hotel to the ground. It was a night match and the hotel bar was still open when we got back so that did a good trade!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was bigger than some chain hotels I've stayed in.

Wi-Fi is free at the hotel so that was good as some hotels have started charging extra for this facility.

My room was facing the main road so there was some traffic noise in the morning, also the radiator was making a dripping noise so that kept me awake once daylight had broken!

If I'm in the Yeovil area on a future trip then I'd definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonUK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a very friendly lady who efficiently checked us in and showed us to our room. Room was spotless and you could have had a party in the bathroom it was so spacious. After relaxing in our room we made our way to the bar for a drink before dinner. knowing that we were in the area to attend the football at Yeovil Town, they offered to start cooking early and offered us pre-match ham, egg and chips for a fiver!!! Food arrived piping not and was very tasty. Walked to the ground and back after the game, had a drink in bar and went to bed. Had a brilliant night's sleep and then a delicious cooked breakfast. Will definitely Syrah again if in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights around the Leeds game. Staff very friendly, ate both nights in the hotel, although not cheap the food was good. Very good breakfast. Best wifi reception we've had anywhere we've stayed. We we're located above the entrance and found it noisy so the sleep quality wasn't good. Rooms are old fashioned but find for our purpose. Hotel is within walking distance of the ground and is well placed for going into Yeovil town centre .

Room Tip: Only stayed the once so cannot comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsfansontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this charming hotel. Stayed here with other family members for my nieces birthday party which was also held in the hotel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff were fantastic couldn't do enough for us and made our stay very pleasurable. Breakfast was delicious. Will definitely re-book if travelling to Somerset again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeneGenie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
551 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
4.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preston Hotel

Property: The Preston Hotel
Address: 64 Preston Road, Yeovil BA20 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yeovil
#8 Family Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Preston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Preston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Preston Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing