We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - highly recommeded”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keep
Ranked #4 of 30 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - highly recommeded”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed with my wife after a visit to RNSA Yeovilton. Although we booked a double room we were upgraded to the 'Tower suite' - which was absolutely fabulous, with a bath requiring water wings! The owner obviously has an eye for luxury!.

The location in the middle of town is ideal for restaurants, all close by. Breakfast is served in a small breakfast room and is included in the price, although a cooked breakfast is extra at a reasonable price. The staff are first class and couldn't be more helpful. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated the bath-tub! I tried to design a room that I would like to stay in and it seems to work! Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay, and I hope to see you both another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    49
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
90
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I hear the breakfasts at this hotel are delicious....That's if you can drag yourself out of the luxurious bedroom,with the super comfy beds.(We Didn't make it)The owners of this exceptional hotel should be employed by some of our so called bigger chains,to create the extra special touch, that so many of them lack.Nothing here is overlooked.My only complaint, is the inability to put "THE KEEP" on wheels, and place it in every location that we visit.
Believe the hype.
.As we say in Wales..."It is LUSH!!!!!"
A big thankyou to Isobel for not cursing us when we'd forgotten our key.(At 2am...ish)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORA1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, you are encouraging me to think of expansion! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, its always fun for us to meet such lively and friendly people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Delightful little gem, very welcoming and well appointed. Brand new accommodation and decoration, the beds were very comfortable. Spotless with useful utility room for preparing your own snacks. Wifi available throughout the hotel.
Cakes on arrival ! What else do you need.
Well worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a such a nice review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

You must simply go to Yeovil to stay at The Keep! Everything was absolutely superb, I've sat here trying to think of anything that may have negatively impacted my stay, but I can't!! Whether it be the warmest of welcomes we received, the comfort and elegance of the room, the delicious cake we received on arrival, the gorgeous bathroom I had or the deliciously cooked breakfast we had on the last morning; it simply is impossible to fault. It genuinely felt like a home away from home, the owners and the staff should be commended and I'd like to offer them my warmest thanks for a fabulous 4 night stay! Anyone that visits Yeovil who does not stay here is doing themselves a huge dis-service!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foghorn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, even if it was for work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Keep this weekend with my son, daughter-in-law and elderly mother as we were attending a family wedding in a nearby village. What a hotel, fantastic rooms, luxuriously decorated and huge bathrooms! The welcome from owner Isobel made us feel so at home. Lorraine could not do enough and went out of her way to make my mother comfortable and provide a fantastic breakfast!! Can't wait to return.
This hotel more than deserves its five stars!

Room Tip: Don't worry about rooms at the front, it's not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for such nice comments, it is so rewarding to know you enjoyed your weekend, and that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed with my family (wife and 3 small children) in the 'Tower suite' - which was absolutely fabulous. It had recently been redecorated and the owner obviously had an eye for giving the place a really luxurious feel. It was fresh and just what we needed after a difficult drive from London (after a day at work!).

It is located in the middle of town if you need to get supplies and ideally located near the various sites in the area (Glastonbury, Wickey Hole, Cheddar Gorge, even the Jurassic coast in the South (we went to Lyme Regis for dinner) - as well as a trip onward to Cornwall.

The owners really went out of their way to make the stay as comfortable as possible - despite us making this difficult (children running all over the place, getting up late and arriving in the middle of the night on the first night), which we really appreciated. Breakfast was lovely, cooked breakfast is additional (but delicious).

Our room was fantastic and I would really recommend. It has a kitchenette downstairs with a sofabed (+tv to keep little ones happy) and the upstairs has a huge bed and a BATH!! Was very relaxing lying in and catching up on the news and MOTD!

So would highly recommend it - good for families (real bonus in this part of the world it would seem), good for couples (quite secluded) and indeed anyone needing a relaxing break.
thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggers_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, I'm really glad you enjoyed your weekend with the kids, you certainly explored the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just returned from a stay at The Keep, my daughter and I stayed in a twin room the room was excellent, the beds are the best I have ever experienced with top quality bedding. The room had everything you would want and the bathroom was luxurious, far better than any 5 star hotel. The owner greeted us and gave us some great tips on where to eat (The Mulberry) was fantastic as was the Italian (Trombolina) she recommended. The owner was extremly friendly but not in any way overbearing. We were staying at the hotel as we were visiting a venue for a wedding reception and I was interested in seeing the other rooms for our future wedding guests, we were shown most of the rooms the next day after checkout and every one was fantastic with the same quality of furnishings. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel you will not get better than this. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room they are all brilliant but for the extra try the 2 storey penthouse suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMCDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, Best of luck with your wedding plans, I mentioned your interest to Garth at Mulberrys and he said he does do outside catering, private suppers etc incase your are interested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
535 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Keep 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only, continental Breakfast included or a traditional Full English, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Keep Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing