We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently Fabulous”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #4 of 27 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellently Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I spent a night here and was pleasantly surprised.
It's a shame that there aren't always many availability - but this is understandable because once you've stayed; every other place pales in comparison.

Really top notch sleep boutique

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yems A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    51
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
91
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have stayed several times at The Keep when visiting a family member. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The owners and staff are friendly and efficient, the hotel is beautifully decorated and the bathrooms are gorgeous - wonderful showers! You are welcomed with fresh milk for your tea or coffee, and a slice of homemade cake, which is a lovely touch.

Unsurprisingly, The Keep is very popular, deservedly so, but often I can't get a room when I want one!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetheCat108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent one night at The Keep on our way to Cornwall. Had we known how lovely it was, we would have planned on a second night if not already booked elsewhere.

The suite has been decorated in a very modern and up-scale fashion - just beautiful. Someone has an eye for style!! And, it was impeccably clean!
From the mini kitchen, the fabulous shower, to the splendid soaker tub in the bedroom - it all made for a wonderful evening. The suite would certainly lend itself to a romantic get-a-way.

A bright spot in our trip to England.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotia-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I, along with my mother, stayed at The Keep on 5 April 2013. We had a family wedding in nearby Hermitage and needed somewhere to stay overnight. I am absolutely thrilled that we managed to book such a 'top end' B&B. From the welcome we received, to the delicious complimentary tea and home made chocolate cake (which was very well received following a three hour journey!), to the tasteful decor and outstanding quality of our large, spacious room, The Keep did not fail to impress us in any way. Continental breakfast was included in the price and the array of choice was incredible. They really have thought of everything. We were expecting a long day ahead so asked if we could have a full English breakfast instead - this was no problem and cooked fresh immediately. I cannot congratulate the owners enough on their B&B and hope we are able to visit them again in the future. Highly recommended!!!!!

Room Tip: My husband and I were travelling with my mother who has poor mobility - this was not a problem at Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I just want to congradulate the owners on great taste and immaculate attention to detail. The place is warm, piecefully quiet, luxuriously clean and beautiful. If you are going to stay - book the Tower Suite - it is something special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatianahinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the The Keep on Friday 29th March while in the area visiting a number of National Trust properties.As a keen fan of Tripadvisor we picked the hotel based on previous reviews .The hotel is a breath of fresh-air,presented to a very high standard.Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.A continental breakfast was included in the room rate and was outstanding with very high quality cheeses,pastries,juices and preserves.Breakfast was overseen by a very friendly and helpful young lady who made the whole experience first-rate and is a real asset to the hotel.We will certainly stay in this first-class hotel next time we are in the area.Book with confidence.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLODRATSAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

walking into the tower suite on my fiances birthday to decorate room, i felt a sense of "WOW" when i walked in, so warm, spacious, wonderfully decorated yet very modern, and you know your going to get your value for money, then...when i saw the size of the bath in the bedroom and the bedroom infact that was the main suprise, was absoulutely lovely, clean fresh yet warm and cosy!!!!!!
perfect for romantic get away so luxurious and welcoming couldn't have asked for more, and the home made cake was lovely to have sitting in the room waiting for us :) perfect place and isabell has done so well with decor and design !!!! 10/10!!!!!! A+++++

Room Tip: isabell is a very trusted lady to suit your needs to rooms! best adviser possible for a wonderful st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinders1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keep 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only, continental Breakfast included or a traditional Full English, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Keep Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing