We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Road”
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keep
Ranked #3 of 27 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Noisy Road”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

They are trying very hard at The Keep. It is very clean and well appointed. Good communication before arrival and a warm welcome. Everything you could need in the rooms, all very modern and amenities on the corridors with sink and microwave.
Interesting breakfast area, very minimalist but comfortable and good fresh food on offer in the continental style.
The problem is the noisy road. Not as much of a disturbance possibly when the windows are shut but not good when the weather is warm.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discernment47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    51
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
93
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

On arrival at this hotel we were greeted with a very pleasant welcome from one of the owners. As we had no booking we were lucky that there was a room available. The room was excellent with good furnishings and all the necessary tea/coffee requirements. The bed was comfortable and in the morning the breakfast was very substantial, and served by an excellent lady who had been in the industry for some time. Although the room was slightly overpriced it was still worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We came to Yeovil for a few days and stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are very well decorated and the owners were really lovely and helpful. Really central location as well. Definitely recommend it! Couple of nice restaurants round the corner too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband and parents last weekend before attending a 70th party in Yeovil, Upon arrival we were greeted with some home made cake which was a nice touch, Rooms were lovely, the only thing I would suggest is the breakfast area could do with being a bit bigger as quite squashed when we went.

Room Tip: Be carfeul if opposite the pub opposite as can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, Berks
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here a few weeks ago while doing the Tour of Wessex cycle event. The people who run the place were fantastic they couldn't do enough and a piece of cake when arriving was great. We were able to put the bikes inside and get our breakfast nice and early. The room had everything required for a good nights sleep and first class facilities, and a very comfortable bed.

A really good location as well for going out to get something to eat good recommendations given, though Yeovil did seem almost deserted at night though the late Bank Holiday May weather was not helping. My only real issue as you can see from the tips if the pub opposite not the quietest of places so just be prepared if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: The only issue I have is with the pub and the road at the front. It can get quite noisy out there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleddyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walderslade Kent
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed 1 night in the Tower Suite, which we chose as we needed an overnight stay before my partner's cousin's wedding in Martock less than 10 miles away. We also were taking 10 punnets of Kentish strawberries, as everyone was taking a dish in this outdoor wedding with a difference, leaving us with the problem of keeping them cold and needing to hull and wash them before the wedding! It worked out so well, we had a small kitchen area on the ground floor of the suite with fridge, microwave, sink, kettle, a good variety of hot drink sachets, biscuits etc, plates, glasses, bowls, corkscrew, cutlery. We did take a pizza to cook but were unable to as just a microwave so huge apologies to Isobel for leaving it behind in the fridge! We ate at nearby Coopers Mill (a Greene King pub down the hill and round the corner), which was lovely (see separate review). The Tower suite has everything you need for a romantic break, upstairs is a huge contemporary bedroom, tiled drying area with fluffy robes, upright radiator for drying their towels and long full length mirror, the bath was oval and the biggest I've seen & I couldn't reach over the width to reach the taps to run it, I had to get my partner to do that. In the corner of the bath shelf was a huge vase of stargazer lilies in full bloom, the smell!! My favourite flowers, so thanks. The bath surround has a selection of shampoo/conditioner/bath salts/moisturiser & soap. It also has small lights around bath. This was only 4-5ft from the huge Queen sized bed. TV upstairs and downstairs, which had a table and chairs and a corner sofa. There was a shower room/loo, shampoo and soap dispensers in the shower & by the sink. Victoria sandwich cake on arrival, breakfast was continental but in addition to tea or coffee we had juice, cereal, Danish and chose a bacon buttie for an extra £3. Would definitely stay again. We loved it totally. Oh, and we'd forgotten Fathers Day cards, so 5pm Friday walked 2 mins to The Card Factory and got one each to post. Staff so lovely and couldn't do enough, you should be proud of yourselves!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CostaArmandLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had the pleasure of an overnight stop en route to Cornwall last week. Essex was too long a journey for my elderly mother...I had booked by phone and requested downstairs twin room but on arrival it was a double!! This was not a problem to the young lady who checked us in...she got cracking and split the beds into two!
Beautiful rooms was little chilly...again no problem - she put the thermostat on in the main hotel for us.
The beds were comfy...pillows always difficult to please everyone -as there was not a "wardrobe" only a hanging rail - there were no spares...I am sure we could have got them from reception area however its a bit late when you're in your pj's!
A very varied continental breakfast was on offer (full English if you wanted to pay extra) in a slightly cramped space - only two tables and then a bar stool type area - fortunately we got one of the tables as Mum would not have managed a bar stool!
Private, secure parking...gastro type eateries within close walk however if it's just a pub meal with helpful staff the pub bang opposite the hotel is great...cheap and cheerful.
Overall it was a good overnight stay venue.

Room Tip: The downstairs twin/dbl has a walk in wet room so great for less able bodied?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBSouthendonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Keep 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only or continental, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Keep Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing