We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keep
Ranked #4 of 30 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Keep is a boutique B & B situated in the centre of Yeovil. Our room was comfortable, clean, and spacious, with en suite, and with tea, coffee and bottled water provided. There is the added convenience of parking your vehicle in a private courtyard within the premises, and the provision of free wi-fi was also welcome. Breakfast is continental (included in the price), with a wide selection to suit most tastes. Alternatively you can pay extra for a full cooked. We found the owners and staff all very friendly and helpful (and special thanks to Richard for the first class Indian restaurant recommendation). Our one small criticism is around location - it has the advantage of being central for Yeovil, but the disadvantage of being on the route home for a few late night weekend revellers. That said, some of the revellers referred to, appeared to be inconsiderate fellow guests returning in the early hours! Nevertheless, this is a first class B&B which should not disappoint.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face onto the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    49
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
89
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at the Keep for 4 nights wished it could have been longer. What a place, Suite is just perfect and that bath Wow deep, the food was first class and the staff all of them are so helpfull and friendly. Spotless. We hope to return if we can get in that is.

Room Tip: Book the Suite its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastersSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Came for business and pleasure. This is a boarding house. The room was perfectly alright but there simply is no service. Second day's towels not dry. Heated towel rail not working. Room heating not working. Breakfast room too small. Cooked breakfast required negotiation. Refused late checkout except on payment of half overnight rate. No staff present most of the time. No secure parking.

Embarrassing to think that tourists might think this the norm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

It wasn't what I was expected, it is more a bed and breakfast place, but quality and design is great, rooms are large and comfortable, the bathroom very clean and also large. Lots of places close by to eat or drink. Breakfast Bar area is suitable for most, as it is only continental, which suited me. Would go again, great little place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room too hot and small fan totally ineffectual. Opened windows but people walking by just stuck their heads in and commented!!! No safety/security position on the window fixing. Bed so hard I slept on the sofa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sands2004gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife & I stayed 2 nights at The Keep and recommend it highly. The service was good. The room was comfortable & clean. The breakfast very good. The price was very reasonable. Parking was a little tight. If we are near Yeovil in future we will happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyscolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Really loved it here. Bedroom very nicely decorated and furnished with large lcd tv. Very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. Very clean with lots of little extras, homemade cake on arrival was very welcome. Continental breakfast included in price offered lots of choice and lovely fresh ingredients, cheeses, meats, fruit, yoghurts, cereal etc. option to pay a reasonable amount for freshly prepared cooked breakfasts which looked really good. the staff were very helpful and friendly. Loved the flower displays in the car park.

Excellent venue and service and value for money. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faeriequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Keep 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only, continental Breakfast included or a traditional Full English, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Keep Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing