We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worst night”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is apparently a family-run hotel, so I hope my comments will help them improve any issues.
It is a budget hotel, so my husband and I didn't have very high expectations, but were expecting the basics. Our room was spacious and it looked fine. We were surprised because apart from the usual tea/coffee service tray, we had some water and fruit which was very nice. On closer examination, the carpet was a bit grubby and the curtains were very tired.
Unfortunately our bed was terribly uncomfortable and we had the worst night. I hardly slept. The mattress dipped in the middle and every time either of us moved, the whole bed moved so we kept each other awake. We didn't want any luxuries, but a comfortable bed is the most important thing in any hotel.
We checked out in the morning and requested a refund for the second night as we didn't want to stay there another night. Our complaint was dealt with promptly and satisfactorily which really helped with our impression of the hotel.
I would not mind paying a little more for a room if I have a good night's sleep. Perhaps the owners need to invest in better beds and raise the price of the room a little. The water and fruit was a very niche touch, but their attention needs to be focused somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraConGusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    57
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
25
55
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

excellent value for money
we did not use the restaurant as we wanted to go to the center which was 5 mins walk !
staff very friendly !
really comfy bed
Cracking weekend as we went for the football
definitely go again !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've stayed in this place four or five times in total over the last two years or so, and will do so again - it's a practical and economic proposition when I'm in the area visiting my daughter. The rooms in themselves are compact but clean and practical. The 24-hour reception is very useful.

But what I've found is that the City Lodge experience varies greatly depending on where your room is. If you're a light sleeper or value your privacy, it's best to avoid (if you can) rooms at the front of the main building on the ground or lower floors; there's no net curtaining, so punters in the Pizza Hut directly opposite can see directly into your room, and the local council have a wholly unreasonable policy of noisily collecting rubbish *before 6am* from directly outside the hotel. (It's hard to understand how the hotel allows this to happen to be honest.)

In the hotel's annex in the rear, rooms on the ground floor immediately adjacent to an alleyway and opposite the backs of a couple of restaurants again have no net curtaining and suffer from substantial noise in that alleyway at certain times (cars parked right next to the window for example).

But anywhere else in the hotel, it's fine. I had room 305 once, on the very top floor at the end of a corridor, and that was gloriously peaceful.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should avoid rooms at the front, on the ground or lower floors, or those in the annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threespine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Compared to the other options in the area City lodge is extremely well priced. The double room I had was more than adequate for my needs. It was spotlessly clean, with a lovely bathroom. The only bad thing I can think of is that the towels are rather small but you can request more so it's not an issue.
The hotel is centrally located, within easy reach of both train stations and the bus station.
I use hotels a lot and would definitely use this one again. It's a bargain!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I went in this hotel with my boyfriend and I personally chose it. The room was simple and nice, the position is perfect because is really close to the bus station, the shops, the cinema and the bowling. The better thing in this hotel is the staff: very patient, friendly and sweet! I will return in this hotel if I will need an accommodation in Yeovil!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smatebby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed two nights, Thursday and Friday. Room clean, bathroom clean, complimentary fruit, biscuits and water, a nice touch. Very helpful staff. Lots of eateries in immediate location. Across the road is multiplex cinema, Franky and Benny's and Pizza Hut. And of course car park, free 6pm ,to 9 am as previous reviewers note.
No wardrobe, just hooks, so a couple of nights you can probably manage ok. Small room, with comfortable bed. If I was to be picky I woUld have liked bigger bath towels as they were very small.
Room tip, 208, or any other at back of hotel. Only about 2minute walk from Wetherspoon (Lloyd's bar) so Friday night was very noisy at front of hotel with music etc, and we're glad we had a room at the back as the noise carries across to the hotel.
To sum up, at £40 per room, excellent value for money, just don't have a room at the front.

Room Tip: Any room at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here for one night as a stop off on our way to Cornwall. We arrived very late but was still greeted with a smile. We were allocated room number 200 which was on the front corner of the building, it proved to be one of the most noisy rooms we have ever stayed in as we overlooked the road & the traffic noise was sooooo loud, the windows desparately need to be double glazed here, unfortunately we did not get much sleep. Lack of sleep was also due to the terrible quality of the matress, the website advertised Hypnos beds, I can't believe this was a Hypnos matress it was lumpy, bumpy & had a terrible dip in the middle! Other aspects of the room were fine, it was clean, with modern decor, as was the bathroom, if a little small, it had everything you need for a stop over, including creeky floor boards! Location was good only a short stroll to the town centre. Parking was fine there is a leisure complex opposite where you can park, charges apply from 9am to 6pm, but if you arrive after 6 you can buy a ticket valid from 9am the next day. As said we had mixed feelings about this place if you have a room away from the road & with a better matress you will probably be ok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_JaneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.1 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mermaid Hotel
Mermaid Hotel
#12 of 13 in Yeovil
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil

Property: Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Address: 16 South Western Terrace, Yeovil BA20 1NB, England (Formerly City Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a beautifully refurbished 18th century building, The Terrace Lodge Hotel offers comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Yeovil. The Terrace Lodge provides 30 non-smoking, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 33 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. The Terrace Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your convenience. The property is within 10 minutes' walk from all that the town has to offer, including restaurants and cafes, for breakfast, lunch and evening meals. Guests can benefit from a discounted gym day pass at Nuffield gym, located 1 minute walk from the hotel. Public parking is available at a surcharge and is opposite to the hotel. Situated in South Somerset, on the Somerset/Dorset border, Yeovil is on the A30 and A37 roads, providing easy access to a number of beautiful villages and English Heritage sites. It is also the ideal base for day trips to the Fleet Air Arm, Wookey Hole, Glastonbury Abbey, Sherborne Castle, and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Yeovil
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing