We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Arms Inn Montacute

King's Arms Inn Montacute
Ranked #16 of 181 Restaurants in Yeovil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have eaten twice recently in the Kings Arms for lunch. I went for dinner on 7th March and food was very good and reasonably priced. The staff were vey pleasant and the restaurant area is beautifully decorated. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoSomerset1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Guingamp, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stopped here as we thought we would treat ourselves to lunch. The place to me seemed to mix old and new and not really make it work. The bar menu was not that good and the curry of the day lacked any vegetable content, to be honest I wished we had gone to Wetherspoons !

There was one nice lady who seemed to be doing everything.

Not for us again I am afraid!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very well cooked food; a great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have been spending time in this area a lot recently and frequently eat out at restaurants and pubs locally. The King's Arms looks like a typical old coaching pub in a historic stone village - so we expected pub food. It was a great surprise and we'll definitely go again:

Interesting menu - mains about £17. Every dish we ordered was delightfully presented and extremely well cooked - imaginative, fresh, flavourful food. Pheasant and duck breast. Lovely, well-judged, succulent lamb. Whoever was in the kitchen has talent.

We preferred the food (by far) to the White Horse at Hazelbury Plucknett, which was recommended to us. Also in its food, it's streets ahead of the Lord Nelson in Norton sub Hamdon (-a friendly and likeable pub).

Average, rather lacklustre wine list.

Historic, cosy, interior - has retained its old character and is not too gastro-pub. Pity that it was very quiet. This place deserves to do well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Super New Year - thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked The Kings Arms for New Year 2013 with my sister, husband and their mad spaniel and had a great time. We decided on this venue as the pub has recently been refurbished to a gorgeous standard and feels really cosy but stylish too. The package was for dinner bed and breakfast and our room was beautifully presented. Tony Doyles' (any relation to the Australian Doyles' seafood restaurants?) three course menu included champagne at midnight and was as delicious as anticipated - we'd eaten there at Halloween - and bravely served by Zoe and Kathryn who had to dodge noisy flying objects provided to the revellers. Then DJ Derek got us up and dancing until at midnight we braved the elements, including a hail storm, to sing Auld Langsyne together in tune with the church bells.
Surprisingly, after the huge NY meal, we still had room the following morning for breakfast - the best scrambled eggs I ever had the pleasure of - thanks Tony, Kathryn and Derek and everyone of the team for a delicious and fun New Year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolagriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A huge thank you for a wonderful Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Couldn't let the festive season pass without registering our thanks to Derek, Kathryn and all the team for putting on such a wonderful Christmas Day lunch at The Kings Arms. We had all had a wonderful time, with an excellent lunch (thanks Tony and Steve, the venison was superb), and a couple of bottles of a particularly good Malbec with the usual excellent friendly service - it certainly appeared that everyone in the dining room was having a merry festive time thanks to Kathryn's 'little extras' on the tables! Thank you again - and can you put us down for next year!!!
Jacky and Ed Miller

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Arms Inn Montacute also viewed

 

Been to King's Arms Inn Montacute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing