We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a Break, Saw The Sign....... What a Surprise”

The Crown & Victoria
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yeovil
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Crown & Victoria
Ranked #24 of 29 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Whilst travelling to North Devon for hours we fancied a dinner break, saw a sign pointing to this pub, and thought hey why not. Didn't expect too much as it was just off the main road, but WOW what a surprise. The pub is very nice and the staff are too. There are lists around the pub of where the food as been brought from and who is cooking it. We only ordered Main meals which we're very tasty, I can only imaging starters and desserts would have been as nice too. This is a place I would recommend a stop at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

The friendly and relaxed bar has an extensive wine list. As a CAMRA member I was very pleased to see four interesting hand pulled real ale beers and four ciders, some very local, also a range of Euro Fizz (Larger).
In the smart comfortable restaurant which has a stunning log burning inglenook fireplace there is a warm atmosphere. The imaginative and creative food is outstanding. The wealth of taste explosions that occurred in my mouth are too many to mention. I don’t confess to being an enthusiast connoisseur of chips, but even the chip are outstanding and unique (go on Mark tells us how you cook them). The freshly cooked vegetables are exciting and delicious to eat, all my greens eaten up as if they were a pieces of the chiefs best cooked British Silverside, Nom nom nom :)
It really is an exceptional place for a drink, a meal or an overnight stay
Alister Sainter
Southport
Lancashire

Room Tip: Overlooking the Tintinhull Gardens is nice, but all the views are good with the Hamstone cottages an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWSainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is an excellent place to eat at any time but we had traditional Sunday lunch. Really tasty food well cooked and presented. Great atmosphere, roaring log fire, attentive and smiling staff, and a good range of beers. Every morsel of food you eat is credited to a named local supplier, all the names of the staff are on a board including the cleaners & the gardener and there is a real 'team' feel and pride in the business. This was my third visit and every time I come away feeling very satisfied (as well as full!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggrower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had not heard of either the village or the hotel before we were invited to lunch in Tintinhull. What a surprise! Hotel is right in the middle of the village and the local stone used in its construction and that of many of its neighbours has mica scattered through it giving a reflected glisten that is most attractive. Lunch menu was extensive together with blackboard daily specials and mine host most welcoming. We'll certainly be back and will more than likely stay in the hotel as well.

Room Tip: We only visited for lunch but watch this space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Pub and restaurant is in a lovely location near Martock called Tintinhull. Very well presented rooms, friendly atmosphere, good food and Mark and his wife, who own and manage it. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone in the area. By the way, not expensive, just good value for money.

Room Tip: All good rooms, area is very quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kencarvosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
385 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
4 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
243 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Airfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Victoria

Address: Farm Street | Tintinhull, Yeovil BA22 8PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown & Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Crown & Victoria Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing