We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soooooooo bad.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Real China

The Real China
Ranked #154 of 181 Restaurants in Yeovil
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soooooooo bad.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

No prawn crackers. No sweet and sour anything. No chop sticks. Hardly any meat... everything was basically sauce and vegetables and a scap of meat here and there... The waitors were just sat around playing on their phones the whole time and there wasn't really much food. Don't go... wait untill the chinese come back and do things the right way.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    2
    4
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothings changed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've been coming here another. 2 years ago chinse people lovely Chinese.food. Beef in black bean sauce. Sweet and sour.balls. Seaweed real Chinese.food then it got taken.over.by what I'd say is.polish. No offence but it's Chinese place Chinese.food like asking a money to do.dog.tricks. Very arrogant and not.polite at all. Hardly talk in a restrant I like waiters who talk. Put off by cold stodgy curry.N noodles. New management are u kidding saw same bloody lot!!! Couldn't.believe my eyes!!! Floor still health.hazard and need.decorating. Least they fixed.windows n toilet crap in my eyeballs only Chinese.people should cook Chinese.food. Don't go had several food.poisonings too we moved.on to wetherspoons oh and.by the way there.food.comes.from.Iceland.cause.we saw.em shop there.and.take.bk.to.real China.let's.face.it.sausages.hash brown's.and.chicken.nuggets.aren't.on.the.Chinese.menu.anywhere!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jogkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was a favourite haunt of ours. Shop in Yeovil then cheap fast meal. Very good assortment of popular buffet Chinese dishes. BUT food quality gone down, plates chipped, windows dirty as were the toilets and gents loo broken. Very sad to see such a popular place fall apart. Where have all the Chinese staff gone? Total makeover needed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England
1 review
“Jesstoe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I been there a few days a go with my friends and we really enjoyt specialy the food wich its complety diferent than before and more tasty and the restaurant he haz a new decorating . The only proablem it was we couldnt have any alcohol because the staff say they have no licence because it's a new management. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jessfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could not have been worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have been to this place many times in the past and enjoyed the food and celebrated birthdays (although I have always felt the toilets were in need of decoration). Howver what has gone wrong??? We hadn't been there for a few months and when we did, yesterday 27 January you couldn't see through the windows. The entrance was disgusting with flaked paint everywhere. The place was empty except for one couple. My wife went to the toilet while I ordered drinks. They had no beer! When my wife returned she said we are not eating here! The stairs were filthy, as was the toilet with no light and the other toilet was out of order. We told the waiter to cancel the drinks and we left. There were none of the usual Chinese staff. Would be interested to know what has happened and why it is still open. They should never be serving food in such chaos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank londonAxminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Real China also viewed

Yeovil, Somerset
Yeovil, Somerset
 

Been to The Real China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing