We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

'I never want to stay at this hotel again! When we arrived at 9.00pm on the Friday night they did not have our booking. It took quite a while for them to find us a room. The room was clean but I suspect that the bed linen had not been changed and it smelt of stale cigarette smoke (there was an ashtray on the table!). We barely had an hours sleep all night due to the noise of people walking up and down the corridor and bang doors (we fortunately did not have to endure the loud music that another couple had to endure). When we went down for breakfast we were told it was cereal and/or toast (help yourself!) and a cooked breakfast would be extra (not what you expect when you have booked bed and BREAKFAST!)'

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    25
    16
    16
    19
See reviews for
21
14
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a delicious meal today at the Mermaid, Lovely tender meat, help yourself veg and yummy gravy. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, cosy but not a "sauna" as far as we were concerned. Staff very friendly and helpful, highly recommend . Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After a visit to the Mermaid Hotel for lunch today, I have to say I'm very disappointed!
My husband & I are new to Yeovil and thought we'd give the lunchtime carvery a go.
After paying over the odds for two pints of lager, we went through to the restaurant for a carvery. The servers were very helpful and nice, the food was absoluetly spot on... Unfortunately, we were unable to enjoy it as it was so hot in there! It was as though we were eating in a sauna!
When my husband had finished his food, I hurried mine as quickly as possible just to get out of there... I did not manage to finish it.
We sat outside to finish our drinks just to get some air!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellyPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch in Yeovil and the nice lady in the Tourist Information office told us about this carvery. A good sign as we walked in was the lack of vacant tables but they found us a spare table. There was a comprehensive menu or the carvery so we went for the carvery at £5.95. Choice of beef or pork and about eight vegetables. The meat was very tender and the vegetables properly cooked. Portion sizes were up to you because you helped yourself to vegetables and they were generous with the meat. An excellent carvery and very pleasant staff. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Just spent an enjoyable weekend at the Mermaid Hotel. The reception and help we had from all of the staff made for a good stay. Ideally placed for what we required it was well priced. The breakfast was good - setting you up for the day. In the evening there was a good choice of well priced meals. We were able to have the carvery on one occasion- and that was outstanding. Throughly enjoyed ourselves and would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

i stayed one night..my room was clean..large bathroom..the mermaid is situated in the heart of yeovil town.the staff are so friendly,helpful.guidance on the local area.would stay again..will recommend to family,friends.....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rico3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Stayed at The Mermaid for a month with colleagues whilst working near Yeovil. The staff are great ,Gill, Michelle, Romany and Alex made us feel welcome and at home. The hotel is slap in the middle of town - everything you need is only a short walk away, and the locals are very friendly !
The Mermaid dates from the sixteenth century and was a coaching inn in its day. So the place is full of character. The floorboards creak here and there but that's what I love about the place. It's a traditional country Inn. Dont expect swish sliding doors and polished marble floors - they belong in the sterile world of boringness. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. If I went back to that part of the country then the Mermaid is where I'll go.
Enough said......

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contractor-bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
0.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
183 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Property: Mermaid Hotel
Address: 3 High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Yeovil offers old world charm combined with every modern facility. Originally a fifteenth century coaching inn, The Mermaid Hotel retains its character, especially in the spacious bars and split level restaurant. 14 comfortable bedrooms all centrally heated, with colour television and refreshment facilities. Our attractive licensed restaurant in Yeovil offers A la carte menus with an excellent selection of hot or cold snacks and meals, readily available in our open plan bar is situated in the heart of Somerset, ideal for holidays in Somerset area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing