We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Old English Inn so far.”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Wymondham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably the best Old English Inn so far.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What can I say, everything was excellent. The staff are to all be congratulated, especially Ashleigh on reception who could not have been more helpful. The food was vey good and served by very nice and friendly staff. The room was very clean too. When my Wife fell down a step The staff were there immediately and helped her brilliantly. All in all a first class hotel run by first class people. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPSWymondham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
This extremely kind of you. I will make sure Ashleigh is aware of your review and i will share this with the team. I am very proud that the team looked after you so well and i will let the kitchen know the food was complimented on as well. Its very difficult to reply to such a lovely review and i am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay,

Kind Regards

Tracy and the Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    201
    119
    40
    44
See reviews for
78
236
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is in a good location, just at the end of the town.
Room was fine , very clean , LCD TV, tea and coffee , bath shower and a comfortable bed.
However a single room was very small and dark and had a bad layout, I would not recommend the single room to anyone.
We had a very good meal on both nights and the breakfast was faultless. I just feel sorry for the staff who were rushed off their feet. Having said that the service was good so no complaints.
We would return to this hotel but not book a single room.

Room Tip: Have a look on the old English inns web site for offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestormer996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I know the team work very hard and i will pass your comments onto them . I know we have some very quirky single rooms, a couple from the original format of the 1927 conversion to a hotel. The layout is very different in many of the rooms.
I really hope to see you here again at the Manor,

Thank you again for taking the time to comment, we do appreciate it,


Tracy and the Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very pleasant hotel in a small town, The Manor is well located and caters for sort stay visitors capably. The staff were helpful and polite and the rooms clean and tidy. The food was good, served warm and promptly with a smile. We throughly enjoyed our two nights at The Manor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conqueror17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Its gratifying to hear that you had a great weekend and i am hoping that we will see you again in the future
Kind Regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Making the booking was easy, finding it was easy, our arrival was dealt with quickly and professionally. The hotel is beautifully decorated, very clean, our room No. 9 was simply beautiful. It was at the front of the house. The bed was really comfortable I slept so well. Flat screen TV, free wi-fi, tea and coffee with biscuits, a bathroom and shower the size of a double room. Fantastic decoration, extremely clean and loaded with architectural nooks and crannies.
I loved the decor, the choice of eateries, the excellent value of £9.99 for an excellent choice of breakfast which includes salmon and scrambled egg, fish, omelettes and full English. Dinner prices starting from £9.99 for two meals with starters and desserts for just £2.50.
The staff all the way through were fantastic, receptionist, waiters, bar staff. They made us feel like family.
The only thing I missed for £95.00 room only was the toiletries as I had forgotten cotton wool, but really that is only being picky.
We had free parking and the hotel 2 minutes from the town centre.

Room Tip: We had Room 9 four poster and it was so luxurious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Wow, what a lovely review. The first time i saw one of these rooms it made me smile too. They are rather lovely. Im very happy that you liked the quality and value of our menu . The two for £9.99 breakfast is incredible value . I am extremely happy you found the team happy and welcoming.Im sorry that you were disappointed about the toiletries. I will bear this feedback in mind for our next brand meeting.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review
Regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice exterior. Inside nice too but more attention to detail on cleanliness wouldn't go a miss. Such as food marks on walls and food left on seating and hairs on clean towels and bathroom floor.
Staff very lovely.
Only ate breakfast. Sausage slightly under cooked and quite small.
Bar and conservatory area was lovely to sit and chat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for the feed back regarding your stay. I have already passed this on to our housekeeping and kitchen teams to ensure we reach acceptable standards.I am very pleased you were happy with the team,
Thanks again
Tracy and The Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The manor is nice hotel which is easily scale from out of town. The room was comfortable with a modern bathroom. The bar is cozy and the food is to a good standard. The staff were welcoming. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. We are looking forward to having you back at the Manor,

Tracy and The Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good location for Yeovil as town is minutes away by foot. Wonderful breakfasts-plenty of choiceand general ambiance of the place, bar, restaurant and conservatory great. Also, super, cheerful,polite and well spoken, respectful staff who really appear to be enjoying their jobs.Ate in and enjoyed evening meals-very reasonably priced.
Only downside is we stayed in the annex which appears to be where the large bulk of accomodation is and whilst rooms warm, clean and contain everything you need, the walls are very thin so you do hear EVERY bit of noise from rooms either side and above/below. Our second night was really quiet but on first one, we had a couple of inconsiderate females who came in at 1.30am noisily and then continued to talk well into the early hours. We could hear every word until in the end, we knocked on the door and slid a polite note under the door requesting quiet. They did respond but by that time, our night's sleep had been ruined! the floors are also really creaky so every step makes a noise-surprising for a modern building.
However, overall stay was really good and on our special deal, we couldn't really complain as good points outweighed the night time irritation!

Room Tip: Annex rooms quiet and set back from road-but beware creaky floors and very thin walls so all noise c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay at the Manor. I will make sure the team get informed of your feedback. I will bear in mind your comments regarding the Old Stables.Please feel free to call reception any time of the day or night , we are more than happy to speak with guests that may not be as considerate as yourselves. Im very happy you still enjoyed your stay

We hope to see you again soon,

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing