We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Yeovil Town Centre”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
london
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Near Yeovil Town Centre”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights visiting family. Good hotel well situated, not overly expensive. Breakfast is extra but very good value, plenty of everything you would expect. Only niggle is, if you order a newspaper, it is not delivered to your room, you have to go to reception to collect, WHY? I like to read the newspaper in bed. All the staff were very helpful and overall a very nice couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the newspaper issue can be annoying. We are looking to have them placed outside of rooms again. But if that isnt the case, please just dial 0 on the internal phone and someone will be more than happy to bring it up to your room so you can relax and catch up with the news.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind Regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    201
    120
    40
    44
See reviews for
78
236
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

needed a break so booked the manor with friends for the w/e had a marvelous time yovil is a nice country town the staff as always were super efficient the food and service excelent the receptionist on arival was helpful and curtious we will be revisiting this hotel again soon thank you for making our stay special lyn mac

Room Tip: old hotel all the rooms we have stayed in have been very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Its great to see the team are appreciated for all their hard work. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you here again soon,

Kind Regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found this by accident! and we are very impressed with it. You can get two meals for £10 and the food quality was excellent. I had the ham, egg and chips and this was lovely. Very good service and pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_evans8955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I agree with you, our two for £9.99 menu is very good value and there is a good choice to cover most tastes. I am very happy you enjoyed your meal and i will pass your comments onto the kitchen

Kind regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for a night in the manor and have to say the hotel is great, the room was lovely and clean, the bed was comfy and the room had all I needed for a nights stay...

HOWEVER the ground floor of the stable block is so noisy! I was staying in a room next to a door that needed oiling (sounded a bit like a screeching cat), the other doors slammed shut, and I could hear everything in the rooms next to me and above! Luckily it was just footsteps...I know the hotel had a refurb a few years ago but they really should have thought of insulation as I had maybe 4 hours sleep which isn't ideal!

I would return but would request to not stay in the stable block....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Manor. I appreciate the time it takes. I am glad you found the room to be clean tidy. The housekeeping team work hard to ensure a comfortable stay. I have taken on board your comments regarding noise and i am having our handyman check for squeaky doors and we will look at adjusting the closers on the doors. We do take reuests for room location wherever possible. Please do contact us when next you book and we will be more than happy to meet your requests,

Kind Regards

Tracy and The Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for x 1 night on a business trip. It was an excellent location for our trip however we didn't venture into town so I can't comment on the location. The hotel was easy to find. Car park is busy - so if you arrive late, it can be tricky to find a spot. The double room was clean and comfortable. Quiet location (no disturbance at night). We ate in the restaurant too - standard pub grub fare. Breakfast was nice - plenty of choice, however the server was very busy and took a while to come and take our order. Overall, I would stay here again if we visited Yeovil.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katchik2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback, without this we cannot possibly improve on what we do.
We will look at service levels in the restaurant at peak times to see how we can improve

We hope to see you here again at the Manor soon

Regards

Tracy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice rooms, good food, great breakfast, with good staff and customer service. Only dosnside is if the hotel or restaurant is busy and patrons hVe cars, you might be a bit pushed to find a car park space, other than that though, would definately go back again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitcasecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure the team hear of your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again here at The Manor

Tracy and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived late, and that was no problem. Our rooms were interconnecting as requested, all the staff were great. We requested numerous jugs of ice, which were willing provided. I mucked up the booking and thought we had breakfast included, which was incorrect, as I found out at breakfast the next morning.
My heart sank when I thought I was in for £15 a head, but was pleasantly surprised with the £6 odd and would have had breaky the next morning had we not got an urgent meeting at Wetherspoons.
Ashleigh on reception was a diamond. Kindly putting me right without any fuss, she also helped with some local sights, (and bars!) looked after our bags and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. All the staff were bang on it must be said.

Room Tip: We were up stairs in the stable extension, we all found it fine. If I had to moan, the door returns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDATLEN, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you so much or taking the time to review The Manor. I am very glad you found the service to be so good. Ashleigh was very happy when your review was read and its great to hear that she looked after you so well. Our breakfast is incredible value for money i agree.I am glad that you found it to be so,

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Tracy, Ashleigh and all the Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.7 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#13 of 13 in Yeovil
299 reviews
4.8 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: 26 Hendford, Yeovil BA20 1TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished three years ago The Manor is located in the Somerset town of Yeovil with easy access via the A303. An Ideal base if visiting Yeovilton, Sherborne. Built in 1735 by local glover and merchant banker John Daniel, the house was known as Hendford House. After he passed away the house was rented out until 1927 when it became The Manor Hotel. A manor it may not be, but it is certainly elegant enough to be one. Its classical facade and porch are of warm, mellow stone, and to its long single wing, also of stone. It has a cheerful modern bar with scrubbed floorboards and pale beechwood furniture and fittings. Today the hotel is a firm favourite with locals and travellers alike. You will be assured of a very warm welcome and great hospitality. Yeovil is the ideal spot from which to explore Hardy's Wessex. Nearby attractions include Glastonbury Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Yeovil, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing