We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth while diversion from A303”

The Ilchester Arms Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 196 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Ilchester Arms offers lunch every day with evening meal served Monday - Saturday. We offer a bistro setting as well as boasting a sheltered garden area. A child friendly establishment we have a play area outside and offer toys inside to keep the little ones entertained while you enjoy your meals, we also offer a children's menu. For those looking to host a function our private function area overlooking the garden is available, here we can provide a full 3 course meal or a buffet to suit your needs. If you have any special dietary requirements please contact us as our kitchen are more than happy to cater to your needs.Our website has our current menu to wet your appetite. We are also proud to offer our bar snug area for those looking for a relaxing drink.The Ilchester Arms also offers 16 en-suite bedrooms.
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here to break a long journey.

Reasonably priced good quality food and drink. Soft drinks v reasonably priced.

Plenty of space and a small garden at the rear.

Free wifi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again when you are next passing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stopped off here for some lunch after visiting the fleet air museum. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. The food is of a good quality and fairly priced. We sat outside in a nice garden area as it was a lovely day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamLittle92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for somewhere to eat after visiting the Air Museum up the road and decided to see what was in Ilchester. The village itself is a lot smaller than we expected, but the Ilchester Arms fits the bill just right. The menu is a good size and the staff are friendly. We sat outside as the sun was shining and there was plenty of shade with the umbrellas up. We both had jacket potato and the price matched the quality. A free car park is a two minute walk away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgeWorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your lunch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our first visit to the Ilchester arms, we initially booked for two nights,the owners Brendan & Lucy have just about covered everything in the needs of hospitality, very friendly and helpful staff, superb food which was plentyful &cooked to perfection, we enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night, rooms very well equipt, tea,coffee, water &biscuit's, even supplied a hairdrier. We would certainly come back and recommend it to our friend's as the place to stay if visiting the area, Allan & Yvonne Gough

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank e42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you Allan and Yvonne for your kind words, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Bistro at The Ilchester Arms looks attractive but the food looks better on the menu than on the plate. Two of us started with duck pancakes and the usual sauce with spring onion and cucumber. The duck was plentiful, but soggy and the pancakes were cold. The cucumber and onions were fine as was the sauce, which no doubt was bought in. This was followed by a beef stew also for each of us. I have never seen two such similar portions! Each contained 5 small pieces of beef with a thin waterey sauce and an identical assortment of vegetables: suspiciously like "boil in a bag" On a cold winter's night we had hoped for something substantial with some good body to it and a generous helping of beef. We were disappointed!
We were still hungry and ordered sorbet for dessert. Whilst it was not the weather for sorbet we hoped it might have been bought in from somewhere reasonable. It hadn't been. Between us we had 4 different "flavours" and they all tasted exactly the same! We even tried to fool one another by closing our eyes, but no; they all tasted of nothing except ice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ilchester Arms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ilchester Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing