We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal”

The Ilchester Arms Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 188 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Ilchester Arms offers lunch every day with evening meal served Monday - Saturday. We offer a bistro setting as well as boasting a sheltered garden area. A child friendly establishment we have a play area outside and offer toys inside to keep the little ones entertained while you enjoy your meals, we also offer a children's menu. For those looking to host a function our private function area overlooking the garden is available, here we can provide a full 3 course meal or a buffet to suit your needs. If you have any special dietary requirements please contact us as our kitchen are more than happy to cater to your needs.Our website has our current menu to wet your appetite. We are also proud to offer our bar snug area for those looking for a relaxing drink.The Ilchester Arms also offers 10 en-suite bedrooms.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our meal”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Visited this quaint hotel for dinner. Excellent choices on the menu and just a superb dining experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Had a lovely Sunday Lunch today at the Ilchester Arms. Used it as a half way house to meet my daughter from Wiltshire as it is just off the A303. Without fail the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive to us and our 7 month old Granddaughter. The food was very good as was the service. It was nice to see a restaurant so geared up for children as well as us adults. We will be back to visit again in the New Year.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a lovely Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I were hiking the SWC Path and stayed here one night. We stayed here and had dinner here too. The food was fine and service was good. It was not our best meal -- but hit the spot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunch stop off”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped here to break up a long journey. It was exactly what we needed. Small beer garden, with shade and high chairs for our little daughter. Staff (owner?) where so lovely, and couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. Good mix of food on the menu - pub grub and also 'fancier' stuff like the scallop and bacon salad my husband had. Which was delicious. Would definatley stop here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“worth while diversion from A303”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here to break a long journey.

Reasonably priced good quality food and drink. Soft drinks v reasonably priced.

Plenty of space and a small garden at the rear.

Free wifi.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again when you are next passing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ilchester Arms Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ilchester Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing