We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Inn and Country Lodge

Half Moon Inn and Country Lodge
Ranked #40 of 181 Restaurants in Yeovil
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I have eaten at the Half Moon on both our Birthdays and Anniversaries for many years and always found the staff pleasant and the food excellent.I would have no hesitation in recommending it and looking forward to eating there on my Birthday in February as we missed my wife's due to flooding .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stopped here after watching Yeovil town fc play on the Saturday before Christmas. As expected it was very busy but room wad found for the seven of us. The food was great and just what we needed. The device was friendly and polite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We found this pub through tripadvisor when we were staying locally and it did not disappoint. We went on a Monday evening and it quickly got busy, it was popular with the locals. The food was good and the portions were very generous! Would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lianne862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, well priced, mountains of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived at 7pm on a Sat night expecting it to be relatively quiet..it was heaving, which is the sign of a decent pub! The room was a good size, really nice bathroom, though the shower is a little cosy, but all very clean and modern. Big flatscreen TV on the wall which was good. Good soundproofing from next door rooms. The pub reserves a few tables for residents so no problem in getting seated, and despite it being VERY busy, the food arrived in good time. Staff were very stretched, but very friendly. If you want to make it through to the puds, recommend either a starter OR main but not both, as the portions are huge. Very tasty, local beer worth a try as well. Really nice atmosphere in the pub. The breakfast is continental, not huge, but to be honest, you really don't want much after eating there the night before! One very tiny recommendation for the pub owners...get some handwash for the bathroom basin in the room, as it's a pain having to reach into the shower for the gel to use..and it would be a nice touch to have some sachets of shampoo available for those that don't pack it. It's never nice to use shower gel on your hair. Other than that, I can highly recommend the Half Moon as a good stop-over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlwauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Recently visited on two consecutive nights and found the quality of food to be excellent. The pub was busy both nights and a 40 minute wait was average. However the food was worth the wait. Hot, tasty and ample portions. Will definitely visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LDCbournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Inn and Country Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon Inn and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing