We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal.”
Review of The Fish Factory

The Fish Factory
Ranked #10 of 356 Restaurants in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely meal.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Three weeks ago when my wife and I were in Worthing , I came across this restaurant when walking the dog.
Glancing a cross the road this restaurant seemed to very busy, and having just had a 2 hour drive was hungry and really fancied fish and chips , and as this restaurant was just around the corner from our hotel it was most convenient.
We left our hotel , and made a quick dash to the restaurant as it was raining heavily.
We had a very nice meal, the portions were generous, and the staff could not make you more welcome.
I would return to this restaurant again.

Frank Hurley

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francishurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    261
    90
    38
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
blueeyes2353
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have heard many good reviews about this restaurant. The starter was good but the main course was disappointing. I ordered the cod & chips. The batter was dry and tasted of breadcrumbs rather than a true batter. The fish was a bit on the dry side.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Seafood heaven”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What can I say, from stepping through the main door - you can see that this is a 'swanky' restaurant by the decor & smells coming from the kitchen.

Great place for couples or families with real attentive service, fantastic food - a seafood paradise, with really good prices.

Cant say anymore !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I love the Fish Factory, since being diagnosed as a coeliac eating out has sometimes become a chore rather than a pleasure. Not all restaurants understand the importance of there being NO wheat or gluten in my food and I have often encountered the attitude of 'well we'll do our best but it isn't our fault you are odd!!!' Not the Fish Factory, they have an entire gluten free menu with THE most delicious options, including a batter for their fish. The cheesecake only comes in a gluten free version and is truly one of the most gorgeous desserts I have eaten. The tiniest issue is the gluten free rolls but I don't think this is their fault as I have yet to find one anywhere that tastes good!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty fish”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with my aunt and wife. My wife and I had grilled haddock with mashed potatoes which was delicious. However my aunt's scampi was served with thick chips that were rather leathery in texture. I assume the chips were twice cooked? In which case I know it can be challenging to get the exterior cooked just right when they are quite thick.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank shovel_shot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Factory also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Been to The Fish Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing