We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT MEAL MARRED BY POOR SERVICE”
Review of Pinchos y Tapas - CLOSED

Pinchos y Tapas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Worthing's Pinchos Restaurant is one of the few in the UK to have been offering a genuine taste of Spain since well before the recent tapas boom. Bob & Beatriz first opened the restaurant's doors in 1989 and it has since become a firm family favourite. Pinchos offers the kind of warm atmosphere and relaxed but efficient service that only comes with years of practice, making for a superb dining experience every single time. The restaurant is situated mere moments from the seafront and Montague Street, in an airy room flooded with natural light and decorated in understated but cheerful style, in keeping with Pinchos' laid back feel. The Pinchos menu runs the full tapas gambit, an almost endless array of small dishes prepared to traditional Spanish recipes available to choose from as well as authentic paellas, fabulous main courses and sizzling platters of meats and vegetables served with tortillas. The pick and mix style of eating informs the restaurant's lively, bustling style as guests jostle to try everything on their table, eating with fingers and forks and perhaps sipping on a glass of wine from the list of almost entirely Spanish labels.
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have eaten here several times and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Four of us ate there last Saturday and, although the food (steaks) was excellent, the service left much to be desired. We had to remind our server about our garlic bread, water and starter and then waited at least another 40 minutes for our main course to appear.

After the main course plates had been cleared nobody brought up a dessert menu...we waited, eventually trying to attract someone's attention, but to no avail. We would all have loved a dessert and and coffee, but after 20 mintues sitting like lemons (the restaurant was quiet by then), we decided to call it a day and went up to the desk to pay.

It seemed that there was no one in charge on the floor. Perhaps someone was ill or perhaps the manager was on holiday. Better luck next time....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyMarieRose, Manager at Pinchos y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your food, but obviously disappointed to hear about the service you received, We will be reviewing what happened on the night as our aim is to always go above and beyond customer expectations. We dearly hope you will come back and we can put things right for you. If you do, please do make yourselves known, so we can apologise in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Visited Pinchos Saturday night with 8 family members to celebrate 2 30th birthdays. Food, as always was amazing and unique. We had the £20 special and it was delicious, prawns, scallops, chicken, lentils with chorizo and aubergine and cheese bake, gotta try it, the sauces were so tasty. Staff very helpful and friendly, great atmosphere. Have been going to this restaurant for years and will return time and time again, u gotta try it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyMarieRose, Manager at Pinchos y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Wow! What a wonderful review for such a special double celebration.
Thank you. We love looking after big parties such as yourselves x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've been coming here for years and have always had great food and great service. lunch, dinner, or even celebration meals this will always be my go-to place to eat in Worthing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyMarieRose, Manager at Pinchos y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review!
Louise, it is always wonderful to have you visit.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Welcoming restaurant with good friendly service. Food cooked to order,so not a "fast food" experience! This week's specials were a mix of international cuisines delightfully presented and really tasty! Already planning our next visit...

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyMarieRose, Manager at Pinchos y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your visit.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at Pinchos y Tapas and look forward to welcoming you on your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We are regular visitors to this restaurant and have visited at lunchtime and in the evening. It certainly can be noisy and full but the atmosphere is great. We are always treated with courtesy and friendly service. The regular menu is varied, with a more than adequate selection of vegetarian options, and the food is consistently good. We often try the special tapas, which never let us down, but those on offer this week were particularly delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2013Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyMarieRose, Manager at Pinchos y Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful view - it is great to you enjoy and appreciate the wonderful buzzing atmosphere we pride ourselves on.

The special tapas menu changes weekly, so do keep an eye on our Facebook page to see what's a' cooking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinchos y Tapas also viewed

 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 
Worthing, West Sussex
Worthing, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing