We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!”
Review of Merton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merton House
Ranked #2 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The reason for our visit to Worthing was to visit our 90 year old uncle who has been very ill in hospital for two months and had just returned home.

Our stay at the Merton with Mark and Helene made a difficult time so much easier. We were given a lovely, comfortable room with all of the little extras that make it special. There was a lovely, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, enhanced by Marks great sense of fun.

Certainly, we would rate it one of the best guest houses we have experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Merton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed at Merton House on the 26th & 27th July for a family get together. Mark & Helene made us very welcome, we were shown our room which was number 6 on the back of the house away from a main road. The house was spotless and I mean spotless, never stayed in hotel or guest house so well maintained. The full English breakfast was excellent kept us going all day. Will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 6 &7, 7 being a extra larger room which costs a little more, but that's the one us n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at Merton House B&B for one night. Mark and Helen were very welcoming and friendly. We had a very comfortable room which was well decorated, clean and roomy. The breakfast was also very good. Thanks Mark and Helen.... we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keentravellers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were picking up our daughter in Brighton, where she had studies English, and were unable to find a room in Brighton-Hove. So we went for Worthing, and we were very pleased with our stay at Merton House. We had a very bright and spacious room, very clean and comfortable, and Mark and Helen were very friendly. Nice breakfast. It is warmly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room number 1, very spacious and sunny. Some noice from the traffick in the street, but...
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank thorbjornw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed here for ten nights in July 2013 and can only say that Helen and Mark really looked after me very well. Room was light and airy, very clean with more the enough tea and coffee etc. as well as biscuits and chocolates. Bed very comfortable. The lighting in the bedroom was more than adequate, some places that I have stayed in use very low wattage bulbs which are too feeble to read by. Not at problem at Merton House.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices of cereal and Mark does a marvellous ‘Full English’. Don’t forget to ask for the black pudding. I also had my evening meal here most evenings. Good food, well cooked and at a reasonable price.

House is easy to find on the main road, car parking on site, and extra available in the side roads. Wi Fi worked well in the bedroom. Nice rear garden to sit in if the weather is good.

I have no reservation whatsoever in recommending Merton House to anyone looking for a fantastic place to stay in Worthing, Thank you Helene and Mark for making my stay so comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear as the main road can be slightly noisy
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_BickleyGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay at Helene and Marks BnB, from the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was a good size and was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the extra little goodies left for us in the room were much appreciated.
Mark was an exceptionally good host and gave plenty of good advice on places to eat and anything else we wanted to know. An additional bonus was being able to park off street.
Breakfast was fantastic and after a good nights sleep we were sorry to have to leave.
We have no reservations whatsoever in recommending Merton House to anyone looking for a fantastic place to stay in Worthing, Thank you Helene and Mark for making our stay a memorable one.
Helen and David Australia

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask to see a room before deciding to stay, this works well for both parties.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Mark and Helen were very friendly and welcoming.Breakfast brilliant every where clean and tidy.
We went back for extra days as it was so good.Would recommend without hesitation.Parking is available outside the house or just round the corner.We left the car and used the local buses which stopped about thirty yards down the road and took you into the town centre.Taxis were also easily available at a cost of about five pounds.Nothing was too much trouble for Mark and black pudding for breakfast is a must.In the evenings you could sit outside in the rear garden with a drink.
In the bedrooms there was tea coffee all the things you would expect plus all the shower gels and soaps and also a shoe cleaning kit.

Room Tip: We had room 1 on both visits excellent
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worthing
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village House Hotel
Village House Hotel
#6 of 26 in Worthing
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton House

Address: 96 Broadwater Road, Worthing, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range: £30 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merton House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing