We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Merton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merton House
Ranked #2 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Merton House is an excellent guest house situated in a great location on the edge of Worthing. The rooms are very comfortable and the entire house kept very clean and maintained to a high standard. The breakfast is excellent and will certainly rival your favourite cafe fry up. The hosts Mark and Helene are very welcoming and have made my stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Worthing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Merton House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I were making our first ever visit to Worthing and had booked our accommodation at Merton House, on our arrival we were greeted by Mark who quickly signed us in and took us to our room (No. 5 on the ground floor). The decor of the reception area and our room was excellent, everything was spotlessly clean and had a homely feel about it. The room itself was very cosy with tea making facilities, colour TV and free WiFi. The beds were very comfortable and we had 4 very peaceful nights. The Breakfasts were superb with a good selection on the menu, I had the full English every morning and this kept me going until our evening meal. The proprietors Mark and Helene were very friendly and made us feel at home right from the outset. To conclude I can thoroughly recommend Merton House and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxorAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I were, several years ago, very fortunate to find Merton House as a base to stay for the National Bowls Championships. Immaculately clean, superbly decorated, welcoming and extremely comfortable. Graham and Trudy, who took well earned retirement last year, set the standards. New Hosts, Mark and Helene have picked up the mantle and ensure the legacy they were left continues. Friendly and full of fun, breakfast (First Class) remains a highlight. The last three years, we have had the use of the 'Superior Room' for our sixteen nights stay. The room certainly lives up to it's title - King size bed, spacious lounge area, bath and separate shower. immaculate in every detail. There cannot be a better Guest House Room in West Sussex. On a sad note, the National Bowls Championships move to the Midlands from next year and we will not be re-booking the room. Great news for everyone else, the room will be available. I have no hesitation in recommending this great Guest House. Mark and Helene deserve to succeed Thanks for the very pleasant memories. Chris and Glenis (09 to 25 August 2013)

Room Tip: The 'Superior Room' is excellent value for money.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We received a very warm welcome from both Mark and Helene who were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was perfectly cooked with the black pudding excelling in every respect! We found the room in immaculate condition being very clean and well maintained. Although we only stayed for three nights, we would have been very happy to have stayed longer and can strongly recommend Merton House that easily earns it's five stars.
Chris and Gwenda.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisatxoloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Was looking on trip advisor came across this b&b what a find this was we stayed 3 nights Mark and Helene were very welcoming and made us feel at home right away. The room was very nice and clean and very well presented we liked all the little extra's as well, nice touch we had a good nights sleep as the beds were very comfy, we had a fan in the room which was very nice as was very warm that w/e. Breakfast was excellent well cooked and well presented ,would highly recommend a stay here

Room Tip: there is no swimming pool or fitness centre I clicked by mistake
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjvox14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having stayed last year we returned to find Mark and Helene excellent hosts, everything was still top class and the breakfasts even better. We would recommend it to anyone as there is no way one could find fault. Congratulations and thanks to you both.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Merton house on the 16th, 17th and 18th August so we could watch the bowls tournament. Mark and Helene were fantastic, they made us feel really welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the room was spotless and very comfortable, the breakfasts were great a lot of choices.
Thanks to both of you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worthing
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
243 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village House Hotel
Village House Hotel
#6 of 26 in Worthing
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton House

Address: 96 Broadwater Road, Worthing, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range: £30 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merton House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing