We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a Guest House”
Review of Merton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merton House
Ranked #2 of 26 Worthing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“More than just a Guest House”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here in early July with our elderly mum. Mark and Helene could not have been kinder and more welcoming, catering for our needs( in mum's case not always easy) with great patience and in most cases anticipating our needs before we even asked! The rooms were spacious, clean and very well fitted out. Breakfast was excellent and was modified after the first day to suit what we all liked -that doesn't happen in 5 star hotels!
Can't thank Mark enough for the care of our mum after we had to leave mid-week. Top class accommodation at very reasonable cost. Mum thought it was amazing !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
43
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Found this guest house by chance and what a find, lovely proprietors double room with ensuite was spacious and spotless with very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice for all tastes.
Would highly recommend if you are looking to stay near Brighton.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed with Mark and Helene during July for a few days. Rooms were modern, tasefull, well equiped and spotless. Excellent hospitality, central, quiet and easy access to town and the water front. All in all excellent value and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My two brothers, nephew and I stayed with Mark and Helene for four nights during the Goodwood FOS. It was a superb experience. Mark had been very accommodating during the initial booking phase some months before and as we arrived we were picked up at the train station and enjoyed a cold beer in the garden with the host, a most enjoyable welcome! The rooms, breakfast and service was top class, very happy to recommend Merton House to anyone visiting Worthing. S Mortenson

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a special weekend with friends in Worthing planned and needed accommodation, having searched the web in the area, found Merton House and will definitely be coming back when in the area again. In our forties comfort and not putting up with the bad any longer is important to us. Having read the comments we were reassured of a good booking and it in no way disappointed. A true home from home and some on top! Not a single fault could be found, the sort of place you have absolutely no reason to go looking in the first place either and so friendly, plus given our 'fragile state' in the morning the breakfast was #1! I stay roughly once a fortnight in the chains fronted by a certain famous person although good for business and know what you are getting, not a patch on Merton House. Looking forward to our next chance to visit and know exactly who to call...Mark & Helene as do our local friends now for their other occasions requiring a top notch stop over.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaverbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Nothing was too much trouble. Spotless rooms tastefully decorated. Excellent breakfast.
Very restful and lovely enclosed garden. Buses run frequently.
Would certainly use and recommend this place. J. Underwood

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Mark and Helene provide a fantastic accommodation option for anyone looking to stay in Worthing. The B&B is located just minutes walk away from the main train station. Through work, I have stayed numerous times in the Merton Guesthouse and could not be happier with the facilities provided. This includes free Wi-Fi, unsuite in all rooms, sat TV, extremely comfortable beds and tea/coffee making facilities. Their breakfast options provides an excellent range of food which Mark is only to happy to cook (will persuade you to have the Full English every time!!).

Room Tip: I would recommend to book the Deluxe room for anyone looking for a treat, obviously not when I am in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.9 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
228 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton House

Property: Merton House
Address: 96 Broadwater Road, Worthing, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merton House Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing