We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel simply to avoid the noise you get in Brighton. I had a disabled lady with me and had to park across the busy main road, she has a lack of mobility and it was a job to get her and luggage to the hotel.
We were on the top floor with a nice seaview only our main window didnt open and the room was over bearingly hot .
We were also disturbed by workman that were guest in the hotel , I did complain about the noise but the staff seemed to lack authority in controlling these guests and I actually witnessed one dropping illegal drugs from his pocket in the hotel bar and a member of staff passing them back to him.
We were disturbed by these guest being drunk and noisy outside in the hotel front until 3am in the morning twice during our stay
The food was ok I feel a little over priced, service was good and the staff polite and friendly
we stayed for 4 night and our stay included breakfast
I also feel they could have been a little more generous with the milk tea and coffee in the bedrooms there was only ever enough for one cup a day, so if you had a drink during the day you couldnt have one before bed. The shower lacked any water power, the bedroom was clean and tidy and cleaned and beds made everyday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreasphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    53
    38
    46
See reviews for
30
65
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I book this hotel last minute as we had a big party and also needed disabled access.
We got a family room in 2nd floor and my brother in law a double room with sea view on 1st floor .
My room was very old and in much need of renovations , very clean and with good views of the sea .
The other room number 7 has been renovated and it is very beautiful also with excellent views and clean .
The food was nice and good service .
The only downside being the narrow corridors don't suit the wheelchair at all but it's due to the age of the building .
I would like to see the hotel trying to improve on making sure that the customer is given the full information on how accessible this hotel is .
For us was ok ... Because my son is only 14 and he had someone to help him , if you are a disabled person (specially a wheelchair user )travelling alone would make things much more dificult .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor as majority has been updated ,sea view is beautiful but very noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We thank you for your comments again could you email us at courtney@kingswayhotel-worthing.co.uk with the room number that you stayed in, unfortunately being an old building we do have some narrow corridors that can be difficult for wheelchair users, we do have a disabled access room that most of our disabled regular guests use and are hoping to make this more wheelchair friendly in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Check in was quick and efficient and the room was a good size facing the sea and with more than adequate facilities. Parking is off road but it is not too difficult to find a free parking space in the evening on the main seafront. All you need to do is make sure you get to your car before the parking charges start in the morning.

This is an old hotel. The floorboards do creak a little and the lift is pretty ancient too but do not let this spoil your stay. The room was clean and tidy and the staff here are very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was good and I cannot really fault the hotel in terms of value for money. As a business traveller this had everything I needed for a perfect stop over. This was my second stay at this establishment and both have been consistent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay on both occasions with us, could you please email us at courtney@kingswayhotel-worthing.co.uk with your room number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Receptionist very pleasant and extremely quick and efficient check in. Comfy pillows.Custard creams. Digital TV channels. On seafront. These are the only good things I can say about this hotel which is a shame as with a bit of effort it could be a really good. As for the bad......Breakfast food and service was poor. The two waiters should be working elsewhere. Room was tired and very noisy from traffic outside and banging doors creaking floor boards from the adjoining / above rooms. Ninth out of ten is about right!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gills88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are sorry that you had problems from the noise from the above rooms floor boards and also the traffic outside , we would like to get some more information from you with regards to what room number you were in so that we can look in to the noise that you incurred during your stay, We would ask that you could send us an email to courtney@kingswayhotel-worthing.co.uk with some more details as to problems you had at breakfast so we can also look in to this also, we are very glad that the reception staff were present to you.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Oh dear - if this is the 9th best hotel in Worthing there must be some real hell holes about !! The only thing positive thing i can say about this hotel is that it has a fabulous position on the seafront.

My room was pretty small, and the bathroom was dirty and jaded - the whole hotel needs sprucing up as far as i can see.

The area is also very noisy - there were groups of drunkards shouting outside my window till the early hours - I found this quite funny, but i'm sure others wouldn't see the funny side.

Breakfast was OK, but really felt sorry for the gentleman who asked for 3 rashers of bacon only (how dare he!) to be told that they only do full English and he couldn't pick and chose - he was virtually told that he would be having the full English - I found this extremely bizarre!

All in all, a pretty grim experience which i will not be repeating - I have stayed in far better hotels for half the price I paid for this one!

Room Tip: chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza160668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, assistant manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
We are sorry that you had problems with regards to noise from non residents outside the of hotel which is out of our control. as it is our breakfast that is supplied is a full English or continental we do not allow for certain changes as this leads to problems with time scales that guests would have to wait. for their breakfast, However we would certainly like to look in to the problems you inured with the housekeeping in your room and would appreciate that you could contact us with the date and room number as we were not told of this at the time so were unable to rectify or look in to this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

One arrival some one helped us find a places to put our car, staff were very healfully.
Our room was good altho bathroom very small if had been a big person would have caused problems, bath water was nices and hot, room was clean, did not eat there as aftewr looking at menu whent out to look and decided prices asking for what looked like every day food were to much.If just wanted a room to stay in for a few days would use again.

Room Tip: we had room 3 on side could see the sea but stairs could be a problem very step and narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d123265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, Manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
We would like to thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

THIS HOTEL IS AWFUL and I would never stay here again. The room was tatty and, although supposed to be a wheelchair-friendly room, I couldn't even get into the bathroom in my wheelchair. This hotel is terrible for disabled people AND for non-disabled people as it is shoddy. The electricity kept switching off and the toilet kept breaking aswell as other problems we experienced. Certain members of staff (e.g. one of the duty managers/person in charge who was on duty the morning of Sunday 3rd June) are rude and nasty and extremely prejudiced towards disabled people. My mum and I were treated like muck which really upset me and I was not going to watch this woman talk to my mum the way that she did. We ended our holiday a day early as we didn't want to stay in this hotel for a moment longer and we didn't even get an apology from this woman. Other guests were checking out at the same time and saw what happened. They comforted me as I was in tears because of the treatment from this member of staff and these guests even said they had an awful experience here and that we have to spread the word to stop other people suffering! Absolutely disgusting and our weekend was ruined. The prejudice and discrimination were the worst parts of this but, even if you aren't in a wheelchair...my advice...KEEP AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: "Keep away from this hotel altogether"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, Owner at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Unfortunately your room was out booked by the Travelodge as they could not accommodate you on that date, Travelodge were of course told that we have partial disabled facility's that our regular wheelchair users use and that it is not a fully functioning disabled room, It is unfortunate that you required a bed other than a divan bed that all our rooms have to use your hoist and that you could not manoeuvre your electric wheel chair in to the bathroom, However our staff were in no way prejudice towards you and after seeing CCTV of the whole incident that happened at reception and you refusing to allow reception to show you another room we can not accept liability for your decision to leave early, you say other guests comforted you yet from what i see and the letter that another guest supplied to me the following day informing me of how calm my staff were in light of the way your mother and yourself had spoke to them and that they felt it was unfair how you had been speaking to the staff.

Also in light that you sent murmurous threatening emails after the stay that had to be forwarded on to Travelodge, and had used the disability to try to get your own way we do not wish to comment any further on your comments with regards to our staff who are always helpful to guests no matter what disabilities they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hotel
Address: 117 Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the promenade in the popular seaside resort of Worthing, West Sussex, The Kingsway Hotel and Kingsway Townhouse, with a total of 36 rooms (all en-suite), offer you a friendly service, a welcoming atmosphere and excellent amenities.Our central location allows easy access to Worthing’s entertainment facilities, shopping area and beautiful gardens. We are independently owned and recent refurbishments ensure that all guest rooms, as well as the public rooms, are furnished, decorated and equipped to a high standard.With free parking, a restaurant and bar, this peaceful Edwardian hotel is beside the sea. You can smell the fresh, salty air even on a calm day.Our restaurant is on the ground floor and has a A la Carte menu. The sea-facing bar has a large selection of dishes available day, with a selection of locally caught fish among them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing