We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Scruffy and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed on business when I couldn't find anywhere else in Worthing. I got the last room which was a family room. The carpet was worn through to the underlay across much of the room. The window could not be shut because the latch had broken off. When I complained the reception staff admitted there was nothing they could do and apologised. However, I still had to listen to the noise of cars in the road all night. Breakfast was quite good in contrast with the eating area having been redeveloped relatively recently.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    53
    38
    48
See reviews for
30
66
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Having been raised in Worthing I was looking forward to seeing it again after six or seven years. But this hotel reflects how Worthing has declined. This hotel was expensive - paid just about the same price here per night as I did in Belgravia, London. BUT the service was not the same. With the exception of one receptionist and the maintenance guy, staff were not friendly or helpful. Rooms are clean but need upgrading. As does the entre hotel for this price.

Had a room key issue which was resolved after the key to a diferent room, opened our door! Not a great feeling of security.

Room Tip: One of the last remaining hotels in Worthing on the beach. So if you want beach no choices. But if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed here last Sunday as a single traveller. I had a single room which was more spacious than I antipated and looked out over the sea which was lovely; I was able to fall asleep with the window open listening to the waves lapping the shore. Decor was dated, and needed work, but the bed was clean and comfy. Shower was appalling, a dribble ranging from icy to boiling.

I opted for breakfast at the hotel which was a BIG mistake. I paid ten pounds for ONE slice of bacon, ONE sausage, a few beans, 5 halves of small mushrooms, a hash brown and an egg which was solid on top of some fried bread. There were cereals and a small selection of yoghurts and an even smaller selection of tired fruit available too, but all in all Not Impressed. :(

Room Tip: I quite liked my room - no. 38, but the shower is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllsBells591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked through Booking.com but in February the only budget alternative that would suit a person in a wheelchair for a July booking was a non-refundable £90 per night but the hotel was close by our family so we pressed the buttons before noticing that there were limited car parks. We sent an email to the hotel asking if they would save a car park for us because parking is not an added luxury but a necessity! No reply came.
Five weeks before our booking we emailed to say our family would not be there and so we no longer required the booking - an immediate reply stating they had a 3 day cancellation policy so there would be no charge. But then Booking.com reminded them it was a "non-refundable" and the hotel reception immediately informed us that she would speak to the manager, who decided he would charge us for "only one night of £90", which was OKish.
But at this point we still had 5 weeks and I wanted to know from Booking.com if the hotel could charge us and still let the room out that we had paid a night for - so they would have a double dipping opportunity and get paid twice for the room. Booking.com did not reply! We left it.
But then we were sent an email by Booking.com of a "No show" on the date of the booking i July and told that we would be charged £180 for two nights! We emailed Booking.com and were charged £90.
After returning home I phoned Booking.com because I still wanted to know whether 'double dipping' is OK under their policy and after a long convoluted call it was finally admitted that
'double dipping' is a practice that is allowed under their policy. I told the Booking.com agent that if we had known we would have paid for the room and given the two nights to other relatives as a present.
But I have just read through many of the other reviews and it looks as though we were lucky on two counts - we were unable to go to the hotel ourself and we were saved the embarrassment of giving a room for two nights to our family as a very questionable gift!

Room Tip: Don't book non-refundable rooms unless you have done your homework properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, asst manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Unfortunately you had booked a non refundable room through Booking.com and because of this we do have to abide by their terms and conditions,we did however try to help by only charging a cancellation fee for one night but this is a situation you need to take up with them rather then bad mouthing the hotel because you had booked through them and not direct with ourselves.

With regards to your double dipping question if you had been contacted by Booking.com as you had been put down as a no-show then your room would not have been occupied by anyone else as the room would have been allocated to you for it to return a no-show status to Booking.com.

I agree completely with your advise of not booking a non refundable room without doing your homework properly and am sorry that on this occasion rather then being charged the full amount you felt it unfair that we halved your cancellation fee for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed just for one night after attending a funeral. Although we only saw 3 staff during our visit, receptionist (same one booking in and checking out), breakfast waiter, and handyman, everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

The Room - twin beds, very spacious, lovely views overlooking the sea, has the wow factor, 3 good bay windows to the front and one on the side giving a full view of the beach and the pier. Décor a bit tired, pealing paintwork but nothing a good refurbishment wouldn’t sort out. I can sleep on a clothes line but my wife said the bed was very comfortable and she had a good night sleep. Limited tea, coffee and milk in the room and I had to take the cups to reception because they were dirty but they were changed straight away and we were given extra supplies of tea, coffee and milk.

Bathroom - very clean unfortunately acrylic sink unit is extremely scratched, deep enough to catch your finger nails in which makes it look dirty. Also cigarette burns along the edge of the sink and above the toilet, a throwback to the days of smoking in the rooms - time to replace I think. The water pressure in from the cold sink tap was extremely low just dribbling out so had to be careful not to burn your hands. Unable to take shower due to water pressure as it did not have the force to take it away from taps - the shower is just a mixer tap type at the end of the bath - the bathroom would greatly benefit from a power shower.

Lounge / Bar - obviously recently refurbished to good standards and it is lovely.

Breakfast / Dining Room - clean and tidy, we did not have an evening meal because the service closed rather early so can’t comment, however the breakfast service is quite late so no rush. We both had the full English which was cooked well although the poached egg was a little under cooked for my liking. There is a good selection of cereals and juices but the coffee was a bit stewed until they made a fresh pot. There is no selection of cheese and meats for a true continental breakfast.

Would we stay again - not unless the water pressure was sorted out and at £110.00 per night I think a bit expensive for what it was.

Having said all that if they refurbish the rooms to the same standard as the lounge this could be one to watch.

Room Tip: always book a room overlookig the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodManHamptonCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, asst manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We thank you for your review and would be greatfull if you could assist us by emailing kingswaycomments@hotmail.com with your date of stay and room number so we can look in to your comments further.

Kind regards

Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Itchington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Over 25 of us booked in to stay at the Kingsway as part of the Brighton 60's Scooter & Mod weekend, traveling on the Friday and back on the Monday. We chose the hotel due to its beach front location, room availability and price. We weren't disappointed. The staff made us very welcome on arrival, even making the yard at the back of the hotel available for us to park our treasured scooters. The rooms - we had a mix of singles/doubles/sea views and balconies were all clean and well appointed and were cleaned every day. The breakfasts were cooked - cooked, cereals etc, all you'd expect and the bar area stayed open to keep us all happy. When we wanted advice on buses, taxis and places to eat and drink in Worthing they told us all we needed to know and made us all feel very welcome for the 3 nights we were there

Room Tip: We had a room at the front with a sea view which was great the traffic noise wasn't bad at all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, asst manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We are pleased you had a great stay and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have just stayed at 'The Kingsway Hotel' as part of a big group for the Brighton August Bank Holiday Mod weekend! We spent a fantastic 3 days at this wonderful friendly hotel in Worthing. We arrived to find we had a lovely spacious, very clean sea view room with a balcony, perfect! Also in the room were complimentary toiletries & pint size plastic water glasses! Brilliant idea more hotels should do this instead of the tiny glasses you normally get where one sip & its gone!! We found the staff extremely welcoming & helpful also giving good recommendations on places to eat etc. The full English breakfast was great and was served in a very pleasant & modern sea view dining room & we too enjoyed many drinks in the bar which is open all the time.
The hotel allowed us to park our Scooters in a secure area which was something that was very important to us when we were choosing a hotel and it was perfect! All in all it was a great stay & now we know it is also 'Pet Friendly' we are looking forward to returning very soon with our Dobermann 'Toby'.
A massive Thank you to Matt, the Manager & his team for a top weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plakiaslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingsway-hotel, asst manager at Kingsway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We are pleased you had a great stay and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Property: Kingsway Hotel
Address: 117 Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the promenade in the popular seaside resort of Worthing, West Sussex, The Kingsway Hotel and Kingsway Townhouse, with a total of 36 rooms (all en-suite), offer you a friendly service, a welcoming atmosphere and excellent amenities.Our central location allows easy access to Worthing’s entertainment facilities, shopping area and beautiful gardens. We are independently owned and recent refurbishments ensure that all guest rooms, as well as the public rooms, are furnished, decorated and equipped to a high standard.With free parking, a restaurant and bar, this peaceful Edwardian hotel is beside the sea. You can smell the fresh, salty air even on a calm day.Our restaurant is on the ground floor and has a A la Carte menu. The sea-facing bar has a large selection of dishes available day, with a selection of locally caught fish among them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing