We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Night's sleep I've ever had”
Review of Kingsway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingsway Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed 27 September 2008

I lived in Worthing for 24 of my 26 years, and this hotel has been there for as long as I can remember. Its always looked reasonably nice from the outside, but last weekend, I really did learn just what that old adage "never judge a book by its cover" means!!

I had booked a single room, not overlooking the seafront (I know how busy the road gets at night), but I was given a strange room with a "cupboard" which housed bunk beds, and a large, terribly decorated main room, with a bed made of goodness knows what. I am no Princess, but it was more than peas which ruined my sleep! On both mornings I had the displeasure to wake up after a fitfull night's sleep, I felt as though I had been speared to the bed.. I was so stiff and in agony. The pillows were horrible, the blankets on the bed had rips and holes in them, the eiderdown was ripped and freyed at the edges, and the curtains were not only in a similar condition, but neither fit the windows or blocked out any of the blue neon light, fixed to the hotel's frontage, right by my window.

I chose not to watch any TV during my stay, after being asked for a £20 deposit for the remote control. I've never heard of anything more ridiculous when booking in to a hotel.

The only saving grace for the hotel was the crisp ironed white flat sheet on the bed, which was the only thing that looked clean. The shower was nice, but the lightbulb was blown, so it was an experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GersPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Kingsway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2006

we arrived at the hotel at 8pm, to find nowhere to park, so my partner went in to ask the night porter, he came out and said " the car park is full, you will have to find somewhere else" !
so, we asked if there was anywhere nearby, to which we were told it's all permit parking. so, i asked him if he knew anywhere as we were new to the area, but by this time he was getting very irate, and started shouting that we shouldnt drive to worthing !
I asked again if he knew of anywhere to park, so then it must of been one question too many, as he started shouting at us and then THUMPED our car !!
he appologised, saying that he was stressed, and overworked !
we got a free night at the hotel, but it was not the best of places, i asked for a glass of red wine, and it was served warmer than a cup of tea !
my advice is simple :- DONT GO THERE !

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2005

We stayed over a weekend in november and while the staff are very nice the hotel is terrible.
It states it has been recently refurbished but don't know which part, certainly not the room we had. paper coming off the walls, cracked window, dirty bathroom, cold shower because they turn off the water heater at night! We paid £160 for 2 nights and have stayed in better youth hostels, how this dump gets a 3 star rating I don't know. Strongly advise booking a BnB instead or a sleeping bag in the car would be a better option.
The 2 good points were the staff who were very nice and the breakfast which was also very nice.
If this hotel was bulldozed it wouldn't be missed

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JohnMurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
110
Reviewed 8 August 2005

Very friendly and comfortable hotel, we stayed in room 12 which is on the seafront and absolutely lovely. We enjoyed drinking Pimms on the rooms balcony. Just like being abroad.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Celia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Velg et rom som har balkong med havutsikt. Vi anbefaler nr. 7
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samosOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Worthing
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel

Address: 117 Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the promenade in the popular seaside resort of Worthing, West Sussex, The Kingsway Hotel and Kingsway Townhouse, with a total of 36 rooms (all en-suite), offer you a friendly service, a welcoming atmosphere and excellent amenities.Our central location allows easy access to Worthing’s entertainment facilities, shopping area and beautiful gardens. We are independently owned and recent refurbishments ensure that all guest rooms, as well as the public rooms, are furnished, decorated and equipped to a high standard.With free parking, a restaurant and bar, this peaceful Edwardian hotel is beside the sea. You can smell the fresh, salty air even on a calm day.Our restaurant is on the ground floor and has a A la Carte menu. The sea-facing bar has a large selection of dishes available day, with a selection of locally caught fish among them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingsway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing