We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We arrived at 9p.m, hungry and tired since being up since 5.30 a.m. The hotel was busy with a function and appeared to be very traditional British. Slightly dated, slightly shabby, with no hint of chic. Our room was on the second floor and had an unparalleled view of the bus station, impeded only by the two large air conditioning units strapped to the flat roof below the window. We needed to open the windows as it was a warm night, but soon learned that this was an error, not least because the curtains had to be kept closed to avoid the bus station security lighting providing sufficient light to read by. However, the main form of entertainment proved to be the bathroom. The bath had a door, and an admonitory notice which stated "the door has to be kept closed at ALL times'. We learned later that this was a 'disabled bath'. It certainly was. The shower was strapped to the wall about 6-9 inches above the rim of the bath, and in order to use it one would have to crouch in the bath and hold the shower head with one hand. But the true joke was the lavatory. Which had a badly fitted seat and which one had to use side saddle, or, with ones knees wedged under the wash basin. Not an option open to two people approaching and above 6ft tall. Of the rest, the beds were hard enough to remind one of the approach of arthritis. And for those of you wondering, the bus service in Worthing starts at 6a.m, with the drivers arriving some time before that. Breakfast was the traditional British one where both the coffee and the orange juice were undrinkable and the scrambled egg, watery. When we politely referred to some of the inadequacies of the room were were advised, very sweetly, that we would know not to ask for that room next time. We were then offered time with the duty manager, which we didn't have, and what could he/she do - about the bus station, and about their bizarre arrangements for 'the disabled', other than promise us we would never be given that room again, and I have a far more certain way of ensuring that.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AuntDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. You were allocated one of our wheelchair accessible rear view twin bedrooms. This is a standard bedroom which we allocate sometimes when a standard rear view twin bedroom has been booked. Unfortunately the view does look out over buildings behind the hotel, for a small upgrade charge we do also offer Garden View and Sea View bedrooms.

I am sorry you felt that you couldn't close your curtains in the room due to the warm night, for future reference the entire third floor and sea view rooms do have air conditioning, which we can allocate if requested.

The bathroom is designed by health and safety professionals for wheelchair users, but can also be used by non-wheelchair users. The bath is a walk in style bath with a door that you can open to enter the bath then, close. The notice in the bathroom refers to not opening the door when the bath is full. The shower is designed to be used while sitting on the seat in the bath. The lavatory has adequate space in the front of it to be seated comfortably as it is designed for wheelchair users to manoeuvre from the chair to the lavatory.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the beds were too hard. This is a personal preference and different people have different softness preferences. We do regularly turn the mattresses in the bedrooms.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our Full English Breakfast, which we currently hold a Visit England Breakfast Award for. We usually hear nothing but praise for our breakfasts which we are very proud of.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not being a frequent user of Hotels the Chatswood made me feel and home....and very helpful..to helping me get the most of the facilities it offered . The staff were very helpful..and offered helpful advice if I looked a little lost...I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in the area.Despite being near the sea..it was very quiet night and day.Advantage for me was the proximity to the town centre area. It gives you all you need at reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

A traditional Hotel that has been in the same family for generations. Great service and centrally located for the sea front and town centre. We booked this on the day for one night and it came out cheaper than the travelodge with breakfast included. Room was compact but clean and with all the usual facilities. Overlooking a garden you could see the sea to your right. Didn't find the bed overly comfortable and it was a little noisy at the evening drew on (from people on the street). Breakfast was very nice - continental breakfast buffet with a cooked option - poached eggs were done to perfection. Overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 731JJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here recently for a family wedding and overall I believe the hotel warrants their three star rating. The decor and furnishings are a little dated but this did not detract from our stay. Our room was spacious and clean, though I would recommend a TV replacement programme. My only real complaint about this hotel is that there seem to be a high number of staff paid to do nothing but stand around and talk to each other. With so many staff, I should not have to wait five minutes for one of them to appear in the bar to serve me a drink and whilst the Maitre D' was most welcoming in the breakfast restaurant, we still had to wait 15 mins for a waitress to collect our order whilst three or four of them floated about achieving little. All in all, I would recommend this hotel, however, if the staff sharpened up their customer focus, it would be a real gem on the South Coast of England.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden/sea view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Cobeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding our three star rating, room and food. I am sorry to hear that you felt that our staff lacked customer focus. We do train our staff to the highest levels and concentrate on personal customer service . I apologise that you had to wait to be served. We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and myself visited the Chatsworth Hotel with a KGB deal for three nights 25/27th August 2012, we thought the Hotel was in need of some serious decoration, some of the carpets on the staircase's were threadbear,and also on the corridors, the room we stayed in was very warm and small although it had air conditioning we could not keep it on all the time as it disturbs ones sleep, also the beds need renewing as they are quite worn and the springs make a noise when you lay down or move, we appreciate that this is a listed building but what needs attention will not break listed building regulations so come on Chatswoth Hotel get your act together,what i will say is the staff so polite and helpful in all parts of the hotel and the food is really good, in saying all this we enjoyed our first stay in Worthing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapper41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding the staff and food. I am sorry to hear that you felt that the hotel needs updating, we are currently looking into updating certain aspects of the hotel. We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

It was pretty perfect. Service was excellent, I asked for a banana at breakfast and it came with slits in it ready! Awesome! Rooms a little basic, needs more parking spaces and be careful cause lots of wardens come and inspect your car and give u tickets. The fair outside in some seasons can be noisy until quite late at night unfortunately. The manager was open and easy to talk to, we chatted away immediately. All in all a lovely place. x

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsecretagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you again to the Chatsworth Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Had a 2 night stay at the Chatsworth from 11 August 2012. This hotel is really nice..comfortable..clean..spascious light rooms...good en suite facilities. Breakfast was also excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.
just one small fault was no air conditioning which meant we needed to leave windows open day and night but maybe this room was an exception...otherwise perfect. Thank you Chatsworth Staff

Room Tip: we had room 242 which overlooked styne gardens and the sea in the distance..very nice apart from no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p0ppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Worthing
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 10 in Worthing
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#3 of 10 in Worthing
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £48 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing