We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chatsworth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Hotel(Worthing)(Great Value!)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel(Worthing)(Great Value!)
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
215
278
172
78
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
278
172
78
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomcoach tripcoach partiesthird floorsteyne gardenssea fronttraditional hotelsea viewwaiting staffrestaurant stafftown centrebit datedlong weekendtwin roomfour poster bedfull englishstreet parking
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Within 10 minutes of arrival I knew that this was going to be an excellent few days. Room, service, food and value for money ticked all the boxes for us. We upgraded to a garden room for an extra £10 per night which was well worth it.
No car park, but the car parking arrangements are excellent and the hotel provides reduced price road parking or this is a central car park parking for just £4 day.
The hotel and the town council makes tourists feel welcome with none of the modern day pressures.

Room Tip: Garden room or a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights only and would not have wanted to stay longer. Our room was clean but very small and decorated with very dated wallpaper. The bathroom although also clean looked as if it had not been touched since 70's. Minimum cheap toiletries and no shower cap. Push button Mira shower in bath and a screen which hardly covered the shower. Shower head was so low you had to stoop. The toilet was loose and made a noise every time you sat on it.The window in the bathroom had no blind or curtain and it overlooked the bus depot. Very noisy. The best thing about the bedroom was the air conditioning unit. Without this the room would have been very hot. There were coach loads of elderly people who I imagine would find this Hotel very nice. We had breakfast both days which was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quite a dark depressing Hotel that desperately needs some modernisation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceceamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding staff and breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you found the decor dated. The hotel is decorated in a Traditional Style which is popular with many guests.

We do provide a fully stocked shop at Reception for any conveniences that might be needed such as further toiletries.

I am sorry to hear that your toilet seat was loose, if you had of reported it to Reception at the time, we could have changed it for you. Although some of our bathroom windows do not have curtains, we have ensured that they all have frosted glass.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and hope to welcome you back to the Chatsworth Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Rooms: spoil yourself with a seaview room and four poster bed- so romantic! My upgrdaded seaview room was just a little dated but bathroom was lovely, all bathroom furnishing brand new and the size of bathroom was impressive for 3 star hotel! Breakfast- ok. Cream teas were nice, the lounge area where tea was served- comfy, my partner even fall asleep. Lots of places to eat around. Area nice for shopping and embankment walks. Even while raining we still found what to do. Nice seaside city, less crowdy and urban than Brighton. Cool pubs around. Enjoyed all 3 nights- didn't want to go back to London! Only one serious disadvantage- you can hear everybody walking above your room or near your room as hotel is quite old.

Room Tip: Get the seaview with 4poster bed!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iryna1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We arrived at 9p.m, hungry and tired since being up since 5.30 a.m. The hotel was busy with a function and appeared to be very traditional British. Slightly dated, slightly shabby, with no hint of chic. Our room was on the second floor and had an unparalleled view of the bus station, impeded only by the two large air conditioning units strapped to the flat roof below the window. We needed to open the windows as it was a warm night, but soon learned that this was an error, not least because the curtains had to be kept closed to avoid the bus station security lighting providing sufficient light to read by. However, the main form of entertainment proved to be the bathroom. The bath had a door, and an admonitory notice which stated "the door has to be kept closed at ALL times'. We learned later that this was a 'disabled bath'. It certainly was. The shower was strapped to the wall about 6-9 inches above the rim of the bath, and in order to use it one would have to crouch in the bath and hold the shower head with one hand. But the true joke was the lavatory. Which had a badly fitted seat and which one had to use side saddle, or, with ones knees wedged under the wash basin. Not an option open to two people approaching and above 6ft tall. Of the rest, the beds were hard enough to remind one of the approach of arthritis. And for those of you wondering, the bus service in Worthing starts at 6a.m, with the drivers arriving some time before that. Breakfast was the traditional British one where both the coffee and the orange juice were undrinkable and the scrambled egg, watery. When we politely referred to some of the inadequacies of the room were were advised, very sweetly, that we would know not to ask for that room next time. We were then offered time with the duty manager, which we didn't have, and what could he/she do - about the bus station, and about their bizarre arrangements for 'the disabled', other than promise us we would never be given that room again, and I have a far more certain way of ensuring that.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AuntDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. You were allocated one of our wheelchair accessible rear view twin bedrooms. This is a standard bedroom which we allocate sometimes when a standard rear view twin bedroom has been booked. Unfortunately the view does look out over buildings behind the hotel, for a small upgrade charge we do also offer Garden View and Sea View bedrooms.

I am sorry you felt that you couldn't close your curtains in the room due to the warm night, for future reference the entire third floor and sea view rooms do have air conditioning, which we can allocate if requested.

The bathroom is designed by health and safety professionals for wheelchair users, but can also be used by non-wheelchair users. The bath is a walk in style bath with a door that you can open to enter the bath then, close. The notice in the bathroom refers to not opening the door when the bath is full. The shower is designed to be used while sitting on the seat in the bath. The lavatory has adequate space in the front of it to be seated comfortably as it is designed for wheelchair users to manoeuvre from the chair to the lavatory.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the beds were too hard. This is a personal preference and different people have different softness preferences. We do regularly turn the mattresses in the bedrooms.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our Full English Breakfast, which we currently hold a Visit England Breakfast Award for. We usually hear nothing but praise for our breakfasts which we are very proud of.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Not being a frequent user of Hotels the Chatswood made me feel and home....and very helpful..to helping me get the most of the facilities it offered . The staff were very helpful..and offered helpful advice if I looked a little lost...I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in the area.Despite being near the sea..it was very quiet night and day.Advantage for me was the proximity to the town centre area. It gives you all you need at reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews