We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

this was a pleasant hotel itm was ok for what we wanted .food was good and the rooms were ok.We had a seaview it was just above a restaurant selling mostly italian food so was not good as from our window we were almost touching people below.Also we were on a main road so the noise from the traffic was unbearable .We would stay in this hotel again but would ask for a side room .it is probably the best hotel we have stayed in at worthing but there is not much to beat.j johnson.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding the rooms and food.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room noisy from the restaurant on the sea front as well as the traffic from the main road.

For future reference we do advise that the second or third floors are less noisy as they are higher up. We also have many rooms that are secondary glazed.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    223
    120
    58
    29
See reviews for
102
206
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Chatsworth Hotel Worthing. We got this stay with a voucher cloud so we actually stayed 3 nights for £99.00. The cost normally is £90.00 a night for a double room with breakfast. If we had paid this we would have been more annoyed than we were. On arrival we were given an afternoon tea of cucumber sandwiches and scones which was very nice and included in the voucher. The room was nice although the heating was on full blast so too hot. we had to turn this down. The building is very old so the rooms and decor do reflect this but nothing to complain about. The Breakfast was very nice. Full English and hot. The restaurant manager was very nice. The only complaint we have is the paper thin walls and the fact that the doors do not have something to stop them slamming as people seem to be incapable of closing doors so the doors slammed at all hours. The first night we were kept awake by someone in another room snoring. yes the walls are that thin. The second night we were treated the the sounds of someone having sex. We had to listen the OOH yeah lots of times. . and then the 3rd night there were lots of people running up the corridor , talking very loudly, laughing and again the slamming of doors for over half an hour. . we are not old people and certainly not prudish but there are limits to what you want to hear. We enjoyed our stay in Worthing but felt very tired at the end of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturalblonde_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your recent review and very kind remarks regarding the room, staff and breakfast.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed every night of your stay. Unfortunately we do not have any control over what guests do in their rooms, being a Georgian listed building we are restricted as to what we can do with regards to sound proofing.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this lovely old hotel, which comprises an elegant terrace of Georgian buildings built along one side of a pretty garden square. We upgraded to a sea view room (a bit steep at £20 per night) but worth it. The room was nicely decorated and furnished and the bathroom was fine. Unfortunately we had a rude awakening by the fire alarm at 6am on our first morning, and had to evacuate to the garden in our night attire. Luckily it was a false alarm and the morning was quite warm and dry! Breakfast was good and dinner was excellent, although the restaurant service was a bit haphazard. The lounge and bar areas were a bit dated but very comfortable. All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. We would certainly revisit.

Room Tip: If you go for a sea view get as high as possible. The lower rooms suffer from noise from the restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenseyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding the staff, rooms and food. I am sorry to hear that you had a rude awakening due to our fire alarm being set off and also that you did not have a consistent service in our Restaurant.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Within 10 minutes of arrival I knew that this was going to be an excellent few days. Room, service, food and value for money ticked all the boxes for us. We upgraded to a garden room for an extra £10 per night which was well worth it.
No car park, but the car parking arrangements are excellent and the hotel provides reduced price road parking or this is a central car park parking for just £4 day.
The hotel and the town council makes tourists feel welcome with none of the modern day pressures.

Room Tip: Garden room or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights only and would not have wanted to stay longer. Our room was clean but very small and decorated with very dated wallpaper. The bathroom although also clean looked as if it had not been touched since 70's. Minimum cheap toiletries and no shower cap. Push button Mira shower in bath and a screen which hardly covered the shower. Shower head was so low you had to stoop. The toilet was loose and made a noise every time you sat on it.The window in the bathroom had no blind or curtain and it overlooked the bus depot. Very noisy. The best thing about the bedroom was the air conditioning unit. Without this the room would have been very hot. There were coach loads of elderly people who I imagine would find this Hotel very nice. We had breakfast both days which was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quite a dark depressing Hotel that desperately needs some modernisation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iceceamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding staff and breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you found the decor dated. The hotel is decorated in a Traditional Style which is popular with many guests.

We do provide a fully stocked shop at Reception for any conveniences that might be needed such as further toiletries.

I am sorry to hear that your toilet seat was loose, if you had of reported it to Reception at the time, we could have changed it for you. Although some of our bathroom windows do not have curtains, we have ensured that they all have frosted glass.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and hope to welcome you back to the Chatsworth Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Rooms: spoil yourself with a seaview room and four poster bed- so romantic! My upgrdaded seaview room was just a little dated but bathroom was lovely, all bathroom furnishing brand new and the size of bathroom was impressive for 3 star hotel! Breakfast- ok. Cream teas were nice, the lounge area where tea was served- comfy, my partner even fall asleep. Lots of places to eat around. Area nice for shopping and embankment walks. Even while raining we still found what to do. Nice seaside city, less crowdy and urban than Brighton. Cool pubs around. Enjoyed all 3 nights- didn't want to go back to London! Only one serious disadvantage- you can hear everybody walking above your room or near your room as hotel is quite old.

Room Tip: Get the seaview with 4poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iryna1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We arrived at 9p.m, hungry and tired since being up since 5.30 a.m. The hotel was busy with a function and appeared to be very traditional British. Slightly dated, slightly shabby, with no hint of chic. Our room was on the second floor and had an unparalleled view of the bus station, impeded only by the two large air conditioning units strapped to the flat roof below the window. We needed to open the windows as it was a warm night, but soon learned that this was an error, not least because the curtains had to be kept closed to avoid the bus station security lighting providing sufficient light to read by. However, the main form of entertainment proved to be the bathroom. The bath had a door, and an admonitory notice which stated "the door has to be kept closed at ALL times'. We learned later that this was a 'disabled bath'. It certainly was. The shower was strapped to the wall about 6-9 inches above the rim of the bath, and in order to use it one would have to crouch in the bath and hold the shower head with one hand. But the true joke was the lavatory. Which had a badly fitted seat and which one had to use side saddle, or, with ones knees wedged under the wash basin. Not an option open to two people approaching and above 6ft tall. Of the rest, the beds were hard enough to remind one of the approach of arthritis. And for those of you wondering, the bus service in Worthing starts at 6a.m, with the drivers arriving some time before that. Breakfast was the traditional British one where both the coffee and the orange juice were undrinkable and the scrambled egg, watery. When we politely referred to some of the inadequacies of the room were were advised, very sweetly, that we would know not to ask for that room next time. We were then offered time with the duty manager, which we didn't have, and what could he/she do - about the bus station, and about their bizarre arrangements for 'the disabled', other than promise us we would never be given that room again, and I have a far more certain way of ensuring that.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AuntDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. You were allocated one of our wheelchair accessible rear view twin bedrooms. This is a standard bedroom which we allocate sometimes when a standard rear view twin bedroom has been booked. Unfortunately the view does look out over buildings behind the hotel, for a small upgrade charge we do also offer Garden View and Sea View bedrooms.

I am sorry you felt that you couldn't close your curtains in the room due to the warm night, for future reference the entire third floor and sea view rooms do have air conditioning, which we can allocate if requested.

The bathroom is designed by health and safety professionals for wheelchair users, but can also be used by non-wheelchair users. The bath is a walk in style bath with a door that you can open to enter the bath then, close. The notice in the bathroom refers to not opening the door when the bath is full. The shower is designed to be used while sitting on the seat in the bath. The lavatory has adequate space in the front of it to be seated comfortably as it is designed for wheelchair users to manoeuvre from the chair to the lavatory.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that the beds were too hard. This is a personal preference and different people have different softness preferences. We do regularly turn the mattresses in the bedrooms.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our Full English Breakfast, which we currently hold a Visit England Breakfast Award for. We usually hear nothing but praise for our breakfasts which we are very proud of.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing