We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were married at the Chatsworth Hotel in Worhing 2 weeks ago an also had our reception there, I cannot compliment the staff there enough,everything went so smoothly and it was the perfect day. We andabout 30 other guests all stayed for 2 nights, the rooms were of a good standard if a little noisy due to the traffic but at the end of the day it located on the seafront, the food was lovely and the staff so helpful

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Chatsworth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

this was a pleasant hotel itm was ok for what we wanted .food was good and the rooms were ok.We had a seaview it was just above a restaurant selling mostly italian food so was not good as from our window we were almost touching people below.Also we were on a main road so the noise from the traffic was unbearable .We would stay in this hotel again but would ask for a side room .it is probably the best hotel we have stayed in at worthing but there is not much to beat.j johnson.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding the rooms and food.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room noisy from the restaurant on the sea front as well as the traffic from the main road.

For future reference we do advise that the second or third floors are less noisy as they are higher up. We also have many rooms that are secondary glazed.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Chatsworth Hotel Worthing. We got this stay with a voucher cloud so we actually stayed 3 nights for £99.00. The cost normally is £90.00 a night for a double room with breakfast. If we had paid this we would have been more annoyed than we were. On arrival we were given an afternoon tea of cucumber sandwiches and scones which was very nice and included in the voucher. The room was nice although the heating was on full blast so too hot. we had to turn this down. The building is very old so the rooms and decor do reflect this but nothing to complain about. The Breakfast was very nice. Full English and hot. The restaurant manager was very nice. The only complaint we have is the paper thin walls and the fact that the doors do not have something to stop them slamming as people seem to be incapable of closing doors so the doors slammed at all hours. The first night we were kept awake by someone in another room snoring. yes the walls are that thin. The second night we were treated the the sounds of someone having sex. We had to listen the OOH yeah lots of times. . and then the 3rd night there were lots of people running up the corridor , talking very loudly, laughing and again the slamming of doors for over half an hour. . we are not old people and certainly not prudish but there are limits to what you want to hear. We enjoyed our stay in Worthing but felt very tired at the end of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturalblonde_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and very kind remarks regarding the room, staff and breakfast.

I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed every night of your stay. Unfortunately we do not have any control over what guests do in their rooms, being a Georgian listed building we are restricted as to what we can do with regards to sound proofing.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights in this lovely old hotel, which comprises an elegant terrace of Georgian buildings built along one side of a pretty garden square. We upgraded to a sea view room (a bit steep at £20 per night) but worth it. The room was nicely decorated and furnished and the bathroom was fine. Unfortunately we had a rude awakening by the fire alarm at 6am on our first morning, and had to evacuate to the garden in our night attire. Luckily it was a false alarm and the morning was quite warm and dry! Breakfast was good and dinner was excellent, although the restaurant service was a bit haphazard. The lounge and bar areas were a bit dated but very comfortable. All the staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. We would certainly revisit.

Room Tip: If you go for a sea view get as high as possible. The lower rooms suffer from noise from the restura...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenseyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding the staff, rooms and food. I am sorry to hear that you had a rude awakening due to our fire alarm being set off and also that you did not have a consistent service in our Restaurant.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and look forward to welcoming you back to the Chatsworth Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Within 10 minutes of arrival I knew that this was going to be an excellent few days. Room, service, food and value for money ticked all the boxes for us. We upgraded to a garden room for an extra £10 per night which was well worth it.
No car park, but the car parking arrangements are excellent and the hotel provides reduced price road parking or this is a central car park parking for just £4 day.
The hotel and the town council makes tourists feel welcome with none of the modern day pressures.

Room Tip: Garden room or a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights only and would not have wanted to stay longer. Our room was clean but very small and decorated with very dated wallpaper. The bathroom although also clean looked as if it had not been touched since 70's. Minimum cheap toiletries and no shower cap. Push button Mira shower in bath and a screen which hardly covered the shower. Shower head was so low you had to stoop. The toilet was loose and made a noise every time you sat on it.The window in the bathroom had no blind or curtain and it overlooked the bus depot. Very noisy. The best thing about the bedroom was the air conditioning unit. Without this the room would have been very hot. There were coach loads of elderly people who I imagine would find this Hotel very nice. We had breakfast both days which was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful. Quite a dark depressing Hotel that desperately needs some modernisation. Would not stay here again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceceamlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review and kind remarks regarding staff and breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you found the decor dated. The hotel is decorated in a Traditional Style which is popular with many guests.

We do provide a fully stocked shop at Reception for any conveniences that might be needed such as further toiletries.

I am sorry to hear that your toilet seat was loose, if you had of reported it to Reception at the time, we could have changed it for you. Although some of our bathroom windows do not have curtains, we have ensured that they all have frosted glass.

We hope that this did not affect your stay too much and hope to welcome you back to the Chatsworth Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Rooms: spoil yourself with a seaview room and four poster bed- so romantic! My upgrdaded seaview room was just a little dated but bathroom was lovely, all bathroom furnishing brand new and the size of bathroom was impressive for 3 star hotel! Breakfast- ok. Cream teas were nice, the lounge area where tea was served- comfy, my partner even fall asleep. Lots of places to eat around. Area nice for shopping and embankment walks. Even while raining we still found what to do. Nice seaside city, less crowdy and urban than Brighton. Cool pubs around. Enjoyed all 3 nights- didn't want to go back to London! Only one serious disadvantage- you can hear everybody walking above your room or near your room as hotel is quite old.

Room Tip: Get the seaview with 4poster bed!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iryna1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
0.1 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
243 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £59 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing