We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend”
Review of Chatsworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chatsworth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We arrived at the chatsworth fri evening around about 7.30 four of us two couples, on a groupon deal bed breakfast with evening meal. Check in was easy and the lady on reception was friendly enough explaining bot the parking we only ad to pay for one day out of three as Suday and bank holiday Monday was free. When we got to our Roos a little disappointed a bit small and looking onto the bus station.. We went to dinner in the hotel which was very nice although the waitress was quite unattentive at first, we turned that around by being friendly towards her and ended up leaving her a large tip. We went though to the bar an had a couple of drinks, most of he other guests were from a bowling club.. The barman was also the night manager Come receptionist he was lovely cant remember his name, he gave us advice of places to eat out. Sleep we was woken by a very noisy bus station station the next morning, breakfast was nice but very small the staff very very busy. For he next two nights we ate out, but always returned to the bar for a nightcap. Thanks to the lovely barman Fri an Sat night we would stay again but not in the Rooms facing the bus station really noisy and very smelly diesel fumes could not open window because of the fumes and the hotel was so so hot the lovely night manager found me a fan for my room although the receptionist ignored my request for one.. Maybe all the staff should get trained by the lovely night an

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    228
    126
    62
    29
See reviews for
103
210
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

staff very friendly, sadly the room was cold, small and paint split badly and chipping off!
not what you would expect for £90.00 plus the breakfast was not that great either!
wont be staying there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review and kind comments, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay with us.

I am sorry that you felt that certain areas of the hotel were dated. We are currently undergoing a gradual refurbishment programme of our bedrooms, and we hope to have our Seaview rooms completed by January 2014. Our refurbishment programme will of course continue throughout the hotel once these rooms are completed, which will make a difference to the current traditional style of the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience, we have won a Visit England award for our breakfast, which we usually receive nothing but compliments. Our traiffs are competitively priced with other similar three star hotels in the area.

I hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you, as I do not want your lasting impression of the hotel to be a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The 2013 residential weekend in early June was held at this hotel and I was impressed with the facilities and the very helpful staff involved.The combination of an interesting hobby weekend and the excellent surroundings was first class.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This Hotel Staff was very friendly and helpful and cleaning stander is great as well, price was not bad too, location is too good.would use this place again and again...
If you need a good sea view use this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots (UK)
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The decor is dated and the maintenance poor.
The hotel receptionist was ignorant and did not seem to want to offer any help at all.
The breakfast was very small and if you wanted any sauces they were applied to your plate by the waitress ??
We got charged twice for the parking voucher and the receptionist would not believe us, make sure you get a receipt for everything you pay cash for.
Avoid if at all possible

Room Tip: Go to the Hotel across the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHotel, Manager at Chatsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay with us.

I am sorry that you felt that certain areas of the hotel were dated. We are currently undergoing a gradual refurbishment programme of our bedrooms, and we hope to have our Seaview rooms completed by January 2014. Our refurbishment programme will of course continue throughout the hotel once these rooms are completed, which will make a difference to the current traditional style of the hotel.

We silver serve all meals in the restaurant, this is why the sauces would have been applied to your plate.

I hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you, as I do not want your lasting impression of the hotel to be a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I recently stayed here on a Bridge holiday and I could not fault the hotel.The staff were helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean.I had a lovely room with a sea view.The food was wonderful and the restaurant staff couldnt do enough do enough!I am looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather186374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We spent a night here with our two daughters not actually expecting much. We were back from Australia for a couple of weeks and wanted to catch up with our friends. What we found was a friendly staff, a great peaceful family room which had a separate room for a kids bunk bed, fantastic breakfast and a level of comfort that made our first night back in Blighty highly enjoyable. A truly wonderful thing happened when we found my daughter had left one of her shoes behind from her favourite princess outfit. They not only found it, and forwarded it they even wrote a note that said,"Whoever this shoe fits, shall forever be a princess!" My daughter loved it and it made us all smile. I recommend this hotel highly, and want to say a big thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npeplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatsworth Hotel

Property: Chatsworth Hotel
Address: Steyne, Worthing BN11 3DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chatsworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatsworth Hotel has 97 ensuite bedrooms, all varying in size and appearance and with many overlooking the sea and Steyne Gardens. We always offer double or twin rooms for sole occupancy where required and some bedrooms also have air conditioning. All benefit from a desk area and complimentary wi-fi and are comfortably appointed to ensure you get a good nights rest. Room service is available 24 hours a day for cold snacks, our bar is open for hot food between midday and 1.45pm and our Restaurant is open in the evenings.For special occasions we have a number of luxury four poster suites with beautiful seaviews and for families we offer rooms with an adjoining room with bunkbeds. Accessible rooms are also available, and we have two lifts, serving our three floors. We also have a well stocked Games Room, with two slate bedded Snooker tables,a pool table, table tennis, darts and a skittle alley. Parking is available on street outside the hotel or at the local NCP car park. Unfortunately we do not have a car park but do offer discounted parking vouchers to our guests.Call our Reception team to discuss your requirements, or book online. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chatsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatsworth Hotel Worthing, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing